Saturday, December 4, 2021

REVIEW : The Ragged Saints – The Sound Of Breaking Free (Label: Lions Pride Music, Rel. Date: 22 December 2021)

The Ragged Saints was formed in 2011 by guitarists Tomi Julkunen and Toni Bite. Shortly after forming, they began working on their first record. The band's debut, ”The Sound Of Breaking Free”, was released back in 2013 and now is available on re-issue worldwide with a bonus track “No More Crying In The Rain” through Lions Pride Music.

One of the most remarkable things here is the lead singer of The ragged Saints Mr. Markku Kuikka (ex-THAUROROD / ex-GRÖNHOLM). This guy's voice is simply amazing, in my humble opinion, and takes the whole band into a higher level. The rest of the band is tight and extremely talented and that's a thing that reflected to their music. Regarding the music in "The Sound Of Breaking Free", I have to say that it can be desribed as classic hard rock with a 'touch' of AOR that makes the final result very attractive to every serious hard rock fan out there. 

Songs such as "A Place Where I Belong", "Don't Let Me Go", "Love Won't Fade Away", the up-lifting "While The World Is Burning", "Never Walk Away" and "Before Time Goes By" are some excellent samples of classic hard rock stuff with big melodies, amazing performances and killer guitar work. 

All in all, this is a simply excellent album all the way. For those who already own the first edition, they know exactly what I'm talkin' about. For those who never got the chance to own this little gem, this is your time to grab it! 

Songwritting : 9
Production : 8
Songs : 10
Musicianship : 10

Overall Rating : 9,25 / 10 

No comments:

Post a Comment