Sunday, March 11, 2012


Since their inception, FURYON has been a band which likes nothing more than to challenge expectations. Raised on a diet of heavy metal, prog, and classic rock, FURYON mix all these components for a truly unique and contemporary sound. Delivering huge rock radio friendly songs, with technically challenging yet infectiously catchy musicianship. Dedicated to one sole purpose, making hard hitting songs that will stand the test of time.

The first thing that impressed me here is the tight musicianship that this band has! They sound really solid like they are together for a lifetime! Their second strong point is their lead singer Matt Mitchell. He has a strong, powerfull and passionate voice that fits perfectly with the band's heavy sound. The guitar sound is heavy and in-your-face without loosing any of its melody and the riffs and solos here are superb. The rhythm section is perfectly balanced and the songs are all well-played. So after all these words, you might be wondering : "is there a bad thing here or something average?" answer is simple "No"!! After a lot listenings of this debut album, I found myself pushing the repeat button again and again!! I really enjoyed every single moment of "Gravitas".

The opening track "Dissapear Again" is a monster tune and showing of what's coming up next in "Gravitas". It's a heavy song with a catchy chorus line, Mitchell's powerfull vocals and a solid guitar work!!! Other highlights here are the 'modern' "Wasted On You", the huge mid-tempo with an incredible melody "Our Peace Someday",  the groovier "Don't Follow" and "Souvenirs". The rest of the tracks are all well- played in the same high-quality level as the above mentioned songs. The album, also, contains two bonus tracks, "Voodoo Me (acoustic)" and "Souvenirs(acoustic)".

Overall, this is an extremely interesting release! It has everything that a metal fan could ask for; headbanging, great riffs and solos, solid songwriting, a singer that sings his heart out and a superb melody that is giving the extra flavour to the final result! Well done!
HeavyParadise's Rating : 8,5/10

Track List : 1. Disappear Again 3:47, 2. Stand Like Stone 3:47, 3. Souvenirs 8:02, 4. Don't Follow 3:28, 5. New Way of Living 6:19, 6. Voodoo Me 3:39, 7. Fear Alone 7:38, 8. Wasted on You 5:48, 9. Our Peace Someday 4:33, 10. Desert Suicide 8:15

No comments:

Post a Comment