Saturday, January 14, 2012


The Beyond the Bridge is a German Progressive Rock / Metal band started in 1999 with the name "Fallout". In mid 2005, the guitarist Peter Degenfeld-Schonburg decided to 're-open' the band under the name "The Old Man and the Spirit". For the next five years and after endless hours jamming with keyboardist Christopher Tarnow, he began to give heart and soul to this project.

With the additions of Dominik Stotzem on bass, Herbie Langhans on vocals and Fabian Maier on drums, the band started the recordings for their first album in 2008 and this year it's ready to be served to the public from the Frontiers Records. Also, here I must mention that the singer Dilenya Mar is the newest member of the band as the 'chosen one' by Peter Degenfeld-Schonburg after a classic Jazz concert and was impressed by the possibilities.

The Old Man and the Spirit” deals with the polarity of human sensuousness and superhuman awareness. The latter is embodied by the character of the Spirit. She is the personification of all wisdom and awareness that is unachievable to mankind, however, lacks of the ability to feel. Her opponent, the character of the Old Man, is presented as a bon vivant who has lived through all highs and lows of human sensation. Steadied by his old age, he searches for a sense, for a coherence, for the meaning of his life in the maelstrom of transiency. As the story unfolds, the Spirit convinces the Old Man that there is no way for Man to overcome the limits of human perception. They can only be transgressed with the help of the Spirit's wisdom.

On the track now, as I said, this is a band that 'owns' the sport and this is evident in their music. Each member of the band is also a music teacher, everyone in his instrument. Quality Progressive Rock / Metal with loud guitars, pure and passionate vocals, brilliant production and stunning orchestrations are the things you hear in "The Old Man & The Spirit". While I am not a fan of either the Progressive nor the concept albums, I can say that this left me with a sweet taste after the very first hearing. A movement that does not fatigue the listener since the transitions are several especially impressive vocals of both singers will not leave anyone unmoved. Try it!

Heavy Paradise's Rating : 7/10

Track List : 1. the call, 2.the apparition, 3.triumph of irreality, 4. the spring of it all, 5. world of wonders, 6.the primal demand, 7. doorway to salvation, 8.the struggle, 9.the difference is human, 10.where the earth and sky meet, 11.all a man can do

No comments:

Post a Comment