Saturday, November 19, 2016


Dario Mollo started his career with the band Crossbones back in 1981. Since then and after the release of Crossbones debut (in 1989), he collaborated with Tony Martin (The Cage) and the mighty Glenn Hughes ( Voodoo Hill).

Nowadays, this very talented guitarist is back with a new Crossbones record which is entitled "Rock The Cradle". For the new album, the Italian axeman brought back original drummer, Ezio Secomandi with the line-up completed by his regular collaborator Dario Patti on bass and keyboards. The choice for the singer was Carl Sentance (Nazareth, Don Airey Band, Persian Risk, KROKUS), who came at the suggestion of Don Airey of Deep Purple, during a recent visit to Dario’s home.

After a couple of spins of Mollo's new opus, I have to say that I like it a lot! "Rock The Cradle" 'smells' 80's hard rock from miles away!!! The classic hard rock meets the classic heavy metal with a more updated sound and along with Dario Mollo's superb guitar lines creates a really splendid record that will be appreciated by any fan of the rock scene in general.

"Red" and "Take Me High" are two hard rock gems that includes excellent performances, inspired guitar lines and  some catchy and memorable choruses. The moodier and heavier "Navigation" is one of the album's highlights. Yes, this song features a big groove in it and along with its moodier-heavier vibe is simply outstanding!! With "Gates Of Time" Dario Mollo delivers a killer tune out of the new record!!! This is a classic metal ballad at its highest order!!! The haunting melody, the guitars (just check out the solo here) and the amazing vocals by Sentance creates a classic song!!! "In My Blood" is a good and rockier song while in "Running From The Shadow" we have another late 80's influenced hard rock gem.

The fact is that Dario Mollo's Crossbones came out of nowhere with this incredible album!!! If you love the classic hard rock/metal sound of the late 80's then look no further; "Rock The Cradle" will rock your world!!!

Rating : 9/10

Tracklisting: Red; Take Me High; Navigation; Rock The Cradle; Gates Of Time; I Got This Feeling; In My Blood; Running From The Shadow; Speed; Fright.

No comments:

Post a Comment