Friday, March 13, 2015

REVIEW : STARSICK SYSTEM / Daydreamin' (2015)

Starsick System is a new band that combines the classic heavy rock sound with some modern, ala Sixx A.M., Alter Bridge and Papa Roach, pinches and the result is this really interesting album which is entitled "Daydreamin'".  The band was born in 2012 from the collaboration of experienced musicians such as vocalist and guitarist Marco Sandron (Pathosray, Eden’s Curse, Fairyland, etc), bassist Valeria Battain and lead guitarist David Donati (both known in Syrayde).

The band's line-up was completed with producer-songwriter and drummer for this record Ivan Moni Bidin (Pathosray, Ashent, Garden Wall, Syrayde, etc).

The album kicks-off with the 'punchy' tune of "Start Again". This is a really solid modern heavy rock track that mixes the 'old' with the 'new' in a such a cool way! Pretty impressive start for this newcomer. "Spit It Out", "Believe" and "Pull The Trigger" rocks big time! All three tracks are excellent samples of pure modern hard rock stuff and feature some heavy guitar parts, plenty of melodies, powerful performances, 'clever' choruses and attitude! "Let It Go" is yet another highlight from this album; it's a more straight forward hard rock tune with a catchy and loud chorus line that grabs you and makes you wanna shout out loud!! One of my personal favorite tracks from "Daydreamin'" is the fast-paced tune of "Last Goodbye". This is a late 80's hard rock anthem with a bad-ass attitude that made push the repeat button several times. The solo here is awesome! There is, also, a very beautiful and emotional ballad, "Strong", which is also one of the album's highlights.

Starsick System with their debut album achieve to release a solid album. They have talent, attitude and some really great ideas that captures in most of the songs here. My opinion is that with albums like "Daydreamin'" they have the right to dream for some bigger things in the near future!

Rating : 8/10
Track Listing :
1. Start Again
2. Spit It Out
3. Believe
4. Tomorrow
5. Interlude
6. Pull The Trigger
7. Don't Fly Away
8. Let It Go
9. Last Goodbye
10. Strong
11. Back In Time
12. Daydreamin

No comments:

Post a Comment