Saturday, March 14, 2015

REVIEW : Wolfpakk / Rise Of The Animal (2015)

WOLFPAKK is the sensational melodic metal band that is led by Alpha Wolves Mark Sweeney (ex-Crystal Ball) and Michael Voss(Michael Schenker, Casanova, Mad Max) since day one. These two musicians have been in the scene for many years and they both have released some really great albums with their main bands/projects. As in the previous two records in this one as well, Voss and Sweeney achieve to gather many well-known musicians to join the ‘pakk’ and contribute to WOLFPAKK’s newest effort which is entitled "Rise Of The Animal".

Just take a deep breath and take a look of this amazing guest-list of musicians such as Michael Kiske (ex-Helloween, Unisonic), Andi Deris (Helloween), Ted Poley (Danger Danger), Joe Lynn Turner (ex-Rainbow/Deep Purple), Rick Altzi (Masterplan), David Reece (ex-Accept), Bob Daisley (ex-Black Sabbath/Gary Moore),Jeff Watson (Night Ranger), Ryan Roxie (Alice Cooper), Bernie Torme (Ozzy Osbourne), John Norum (Europe), Doug Aldrich (ex-Whitesnake/Dio/Burning Rain),Mike Terrana (Tarja Turunen), Mark Schulman (Billy Idol, Foreigner) and Simon Philips (ex-Toto) name a few!!!!

So, with this really amazing list of guests and the two masterminds (Voss, Sweeney) behind this project you can't go wrong! The album starts with the fast and furious classic heavy tune of "Rider Of The Storm" and continues with the late 80's hard rock influenced "Sock It To Me". For sure, this title is one of the best here and includes a heavy riff, a superb solo, solid arrangements and a catchy as hell chorus line! Excellent stuff! The late 80's, early 90's, attack continues with the impressive "Monkey On Your Back"; a song that features Ted Poley of Danger Danger. The guitar God, John Norum(Europe) gives his precious helping 'hand' on "Somewhere Beyond" while the 'out of this world' riffs and solos continues in "Running Out Of Time" with the participation of Don Dokken (Dokken) and Doug Aldrich.

Overall, "Rise Of The Animal" is yet another impressive all-star band that includes a bunch of some excellent tunes in it, a tight songwriting and passionate performances! Highly recommended!

Rating : 9/10

Track Listing :
1. Rider Of The Storm
2. Sock It To Me
3. Monkey On Your Back
4. Highlands
5. Black Wolf
6. Somewhere Beyond
7. Running Out Of Time
8. Grizzly Man
9. High Roller
10. Rise Of The Animal
11. Universe

No comments:

Post a Comment