Thursday, March 12, 2015

REVIEW : SECRET SPHERE / A Time Never Come [Re-recorded] (2015)

In 2012, the Italian Melodic Power Metal act of Secret Sphere released the solid "Portrait Of A Dying Heart" album that ended at first position in Heavy Paradise's Top Melodic Power Metal albums. This album also, featured the amazing singer Michele Luppi as the band's lead singer. "Portrait Of A Dying Heart"  was Secret Sphere's fifth official record.

Nowadays, the band wants to celebrate its 15th anniversary and for that reason they re-recorded its legendary second release "A Time Never Come". The album has now been completely re-recorded by Secret Sphere’s current line-up, including renowned singer Michele Luppi and the artwork has been completely revamped by celebrated artist Nathalia Suellen (Dark Moor, Almah).

This is how Secret Sphere’s mastermind Aldo Lonobile commented the event: “Due to an overwhelming demand, we had initially planned to re-release ‘A Time Never Come’ exclusively for the Japanese market, but later on we thought that would have been cool to make it available in all the other territories. This is album has been a milestone for our career and this year marks the 15th anniversary of us entering the studio to record it. We didn’t want it to be a nostalgic move but give the album a new life, with new arrangements and new graphics. Mission accomplished if you ask me!”  

Even though this release it's not so 'old', the band achieved to give a more updated and at the same time 'fresh' sound and the result is stunning. Without no doubt there are some true gems in this album such as the brilliant and extremely melodic "Legend", "The Brave", "Oblivion", the huge power-ballad of "Mystery Of Love" and  "Dr. Faustus". Michele Luppi's performances are top notch and the guitar parts are delightful.

I think that there is nothing more to add here except that ‘A Time Never Come’ is a great record all the way. If you are a fan of this particular scene and you like your Power Metal full of great melodies, top notch performances, solid arrangements and with some really incredible riffs and solos, then look no further; ‘A Time Never Come’ is your album!!!!

Rating : 9,5/10

Track Listing : 
1. Gate of Wisdom
2. Legend
3. Under the Flag of Mary Read
4. The Brave
5. Emotions
6. Oblivion
7. Lady of Silence
8. The Mystery of Love
9. Paganini's Nightmare
10. Hamelin
11. Ascension
12. DrFaustus

1 comment:

  1. I bought A time never come in 2003 and I loved it.
    But this new re-release left everything i love.
    The lack of heavyness like in the intro of Legend and The Brave.
    The choice of doing a simple pattern in oblivion.
    the new arrangement not well suited to the music left me a bitter and distasteful feeling all the way through what its suppose to be.

    I do only give all the compliments to Michelle Luppi for his amazing job.

    But to be honest we mist the excelent, freshier and powerful patterns of Luca Cartasegna the ex drummer and former keys.

    As a fan i dont feel glad to this at all.