Sunday, April 13, 2014

MOONSHINE / Moonshine (2014)

Derek Davis is no other than the lead singer of the extraordinary heavy rock band of BABYLON A.D. that made an big impact back in the late 80's, early 90's, U.S. hard rock scene. Nowadays, Davis is releasing his debut opus with Moonshine. This is a blues based rock band that has its roots to acts such as of  Lynyrd Skynyrd, 38 Special and The Allman Brothers Band. The album was recorded at Eddie Van Halen's 5150 studios.

The band consists of Derek Davis on vocals, Buzzy James on slide guitar, Creg DeFalco on guitar, Mike Malone on piano, harmonica, Brian Fox on drums and Michael Norton on bass. Some guest appearances here are from Jane Child on piano, background vocals, Michael Anthony on background vocals, Kevin Hill on bass and David Lauser.

The opening tune of "Mississippi Delta Blues" is a real cool blues based hard rock stuff in the vane of Aerosmith's earlier works that features great guitar lines, soulful vocal lines and a very nice harmony. For sure, this is a very good appetizer of what's coming-up next! "The Devils Road" brings some memories from the great Tesla while in "Fortunate Son" we have a sweet 80's rock song with an up-tempo rhythm and a feel-good vibe in it! Cool! "Mamas Kitchen Brew" is a true highlight and a more straight forward rocker. "Turn Me Around" is yet another killer song.

All in all this is a great smokin' blues based hard rock album that will put a wide smile upon the face of every serious rock fan out there and especially for the fans of Great White, Aerosmith and Tesla. And one last thing; Derek Davis' vocals are top notch!
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 8/10

Track Listing :
01. Mississipi Delta Blues
02. Warm Beer Catfish Stew
03. The Devils Road
04. Fortunate Son
05. The Last Song
06. Mamas Kitchen Brew
07. Southern Blood
08. Turn Me Around
09. Fade Away
10. The American Train

No comments:

Post a Comment