Sunday, April 13, 2014

ETERNAL SILENCE / Raw Poetry (2013)

To be honest here, the name of Eternal Silence was completely unknown to me till a friend of mine, Giulio Capone, who is, also, a guest musician on this album, introduced it to me. From a research that I've made, I found out that Eternal Silence started in 2008 with the founder members Marika Vanni (vocals) and Alberto Cassina (guitar). After a few months, Alessio Sessa (bass) and Mario Dama (guitar) joined the team while in 2009 it was time for Davide Massironi (drums) to be part of Eternal Silence.

They played in many gigs and songs from Epica, Nightwish, Within Tempation and After Forever but from the very beginning the band planned to compose some own stuff. They recorded an EP, "Darkness and Regret", and gained positive reviews. In 2013, they released their first full-length album which was entitled "Raw Poetry".

After a short and epic intro comes the opening tune of "The Day Of Regret". Big guitars, a huge symphonic/dark sound, amazing vocal lines, very good arrangements and a catchy chorus line in this absolute brilliant song! The melody is the basic ingredient in "Braving My Destiny". The variety of sounds and emotions here makes this track another highlight! "Run In Search Of Flame" is a more up-tempo, kinda of 'speedy', melodic power metal tune and very hooky while "Beneath This Storm" is a killer symphonic metal gem! Extremely melodic including powerful performances, an amazing guitar work and solid arrangements. Great stuff! Just listen, also, to the beautiful tune of "December Demise" and you'll understand what I'm talkin' about here!

Bottom line is that "Raw Poetry" is a great piece of art in the symphonic/epic power metal scene. Amazing melodies, beautiful performances and great arrangements in this solid record. For those who haven't checked this album yet, please do a favor to yourself and check it out NOW! A highly recommended stuff for every fan of rock music in general!
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 9/10

Track Listing :
01. Musa (intro)
02. The Day of Regret
03. Braving my Destiny
04. Incubus
05. Forlorn Farewell
06. Run in Search of Flame
07. Lord of the Darkest Night
08. Beneath this Storm
09. Braided Fates
10. December Demise
11. Death and the Maiden
12. Vigdis

No comments:

Post a Comment