Monday, April 21, 2014

FERREIRA / 5 (2014)

Marc Ferreira is well-known as the lead singer of melodic hard rock band Goodbye Thrill. He has, also, released four solid solo albums and nowadays this so talented musician is ready to unleash his brand new fifth album which is simly entitled "5". The band, also, consists of Dario Seixas (Firehouse) on bass and Alex Ferreira on drums.

After the first spin of "5", I have to say that this is about a very good record all the way. It's melodic, updated with a bunch of some really excellent tunes in it and Marc's superb vocal lines. It's a ride back to the 80's, early 90's, with a modern twist but without being boring or uninspired.

From the opening tune of "Hit The Door", we have the first big moment of the album; a great melodic rock monster with a catchy chorus line that takes you to heaven. "Heaven Is Her Name" starts with a heavier riff and when it comes to chorus we have another big sing-a-long track. Next, in "You Are No A Friend Of Mine" we are dealing with a killer song!! A serious ass-kicking in-your-face rocker with a brilliant guitar line. "Midnight Romeo" is an 80's influenced one while in "Leaving Town" we have a huge modern rock song and one of my favorites here! This one features a feel-good vibe, more laid-back vocals and a nice chorus line. Listen, also, to the amazing Firehouse-easque "Sometimes Love's Not Enough" and you'll be hit a melodic rock bliss!! Superb stuff!

This is Ferreira's best work to date, period! It's a polished record with a bunch of some really excellent rockers that will satisfy every melodic hard rock fan of this particular scene and will bring up memories from the glory 80's, early 90's.
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 8,5/10

Track Listing :
01 - Hit the Door
02 - Heaven Is Her Name
03 - You're No Friend of Mine
04 - Night to Remember
05 - Midnight Romeo
06 - Don't Let Go
07 - Leaving Town
08 - That's the Way It Is
09 - Superstitions
10 - Sometimes Love's Not Enough
11 - In the End

No comments:

Post a Comment