Monday, April 21, 2014

LINDA & THE PUNCH / Obsession (2014)

Linda & The Punch is a newbie in the rock scene and "Obsession" is entitled the band's debut release that is released through Escape Music. The mighty Michael Voss (Mad Max e.t.c.) is responsible for the production of this record and many well-known musicians, Tommy Denander, Herman Rarebell and many others, contribute to the songwriting of Obsession.

The sound here is pure melodic rock with a modern twist and, most of all, with Linda's soulful and 'clean' voice in front row. All of the songs here are well-written, well-performed with very nice melodies, solid arrangements, good guitar work and superb vocal performances.

In "Obsession" you're about to hear some really cool rockers like the amazing and my personal favorite "Cold Cold World", "Nothing Of Anything", the fantastic "Looking Out For Number One" and the ultra catchy and heavier "Love Kills Me". All the above mentioned tracks are pure modern melodic rock delight with big harmonies and memorable hooks and choruses and, in my humble opinion, they have nothing to be envy about from big names of today's modern melodic rock scene. The album, of course, includes, also, some excellent slower cuts, mid-tempos (Wake Up Dreaming Of You, Lost For Words) that makes the final result very attractive.

All in all, this is a very good debut album by Linda &The Punch. And I would dare to say that "Obsession" is among the surprises of this year so far. It sounds fresh, updated with an 80's vibe in it perfectly mixed with the late 00's modern melodic rock scene and it's a highly recommended stuff for every rock fan out there!
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 8,5/10

Track Listing :
01. What A Shame
02. Cold Cold World
03. Welcome To London
04. Wake Up Dreaming Of You
05. Nothing Of Anything
06. Bite
07. Looking Out For Number One
08. Kill The Lights
09. Lost Of Words
10. Love Kills Me
11. Because The Night

No comments:

Post a Comment