Friday, March 25, 2016

REVIEW : TREAT / Ghost of Graceland (2016)

The legendary melodic hard rock band of Treat is back in business with a brand new opus which is entitled "Ghost Of Graceland". After their successful comeback back in 2010 with the already classic "Coup De Grace", Treat is releasing another masterpiece. "Ghost Of Graceland" includes all the things that we love to hear from this band plus a fresh and updated sound. Their latest album,"Coup De Grace", was praised by both fans and critics and it left us hungry for more.

The new record is moving to the same 'heavier' paths of "Coup De Grace" including a solid production, big and memorable choruses, melodies to die for plus a superb songwriting that reflects the maturity of the band. “This is where we are today. As a band, as musicians, songwriters and individuals. It’s a statement: this us 2016”, says main songwriter and guitarist Anders Wikström.

The album kicks-off with a classic tune; "Ghost Of Graceland" is pure Euro Melodic Hard Rock bliss!! A heavy riff, Robert Ernlund's passionate vocals, great arrangements, an early Treat vibe and a chorus line to die for!! Epic!!! "I Don't Miss The Misery" sounds like it came out from "Coup De Grace" with its powerful still 'modern' vibe. The chorus line is simply genius!!! In "Do Your Own Stunts" (Anders writes about a father wh is trying to teach his kids how to live their lives to the full) Treat delivers another gem out of the new opus. A solid and mature, regarding of the songwriting, rock hymn. "Inferno" will blow your mind up and it's gonna make you turn on the volume to 10!!! A modern commercial melodic hard rock monster that explodes when it comes to the chorus!!!! The classic Scandi up-tempo "Nonstop Madness" will put a smile on your face while with the fast-paced rocker of "Too Late To Die Young" the party is on fire!!!! In "Together Alone", we are dealing with such an amazing and heartbreaking ballad that sees Anders Wikström on lead vocals for the first time.

"Ghost Of Graceland" is brilliant!!! One of the best records that I've heard this year and a classic in my book. I thought that it could be extremely difficult to beat a classic album such as "Coup De Grace" was but Treat overcame themselves and released another gem, another classic record. 

Rating : 10/10

Track Listing :
01. Ghost Of Graceland
02. I Don't Miss The Misery
03. Better The Devil You Know
04. Do Your Own Stunts
05. Endangered
06. Inferno
07. Alien Earthlings
08. Nonstop Madness
09. Too Late To Die Young
10. House On Fire
11. Together Alone
12. Everything To Everyone

Robert Ernlund – lead vocals
Anders Wikström – lead guitars and background vocals (lead vocals on “Together Alone”)
Patrick Appelgren – keyboards, guitars and background vocals
Pontus Egberg – bass guitar
Jamie Borger – drums
Produced by Peter Mansson
Co-produced by Anders Wikström

1 comment: