Sunday, March 27, 2016

REVIEW : HUMAN ZOO / My Own God (2016)

It's been already five years since the last Human Zoo record. This German melodic hard rock act since its creation has released three very good albums and nowadays its ready to strike back with a new opus. "My Own God" is entitled Human Zoo's brand new baby and it continues where "Eyes Of The Stranger" left. It continues to deliver a well-crafted Euro hard rock stuff with strong emphasis to big melodies, memorable choruses and powerful performances.

Plus to the above mentioned things a superb production (by Chris Lausmann) and there you have an A-Class hard rock record that can't be missed by any fan of this particular scene and, of course, by the fans of Gotthard. The saxophone pinches are used in a unique way, as always, and are givin' the extra 'push' to the final result.

"One Direction" starts things here impressively; it's a straight and in-your-face rocker in an early-Gotthard way while in the ultra catchy tune of "Cry Baby Cry" the sax elements make their appearance and rocket this little gem to heaven!  Another highlight out of the new album is without a doubt the emotional ballad "A Day To Remember", that could easily appear in any of Gotthard's earlier releases with Steve Lee (R.I.P.). Amazing song!!!  "NSA" is a heavy tune and "Like A Bitch" includes a bad-ass groove in it and a huge chorus line to die for.

A little heavier with melodies to die for and choruses to whistle for days "My Own God" marks the triumph return of Human Zoo in the music business.

Rating : 8,5/10

Track Listing :
01. One Direction 
02. Cry Baby Cry
03. Love Train
04. A Day To Remember
05. My Own Illusion
06. NSA
07. Like A Bitch
08. 4U
09. Solitaire
10. Wave Your Flag
11. Reminds Me Of You

No comments:

Post a Comment