Tuesday, January 12, 2016

REVIEW : Rhapsody Of Fire / Into The Legend (2016)

Italian symphonic power metal band of RHAPSODY OF FIRE started its career in the mid 90’s (releasing their first albums under the banner of “Rhapsody”). The debut ‘Legendary Tales’ (1997) made a huge impact on the scene and gained positive feedback. The band quickly build a strong reputation around its name and the first four records sold (combined way) over 1.000.000 copies and made Rhapsody Of Fire one of the most popular metal artists worldwide. Due to legal issues, the band had to be renamed from Rhapsody to RHAPSODY OF FIRE in 2003 but this had no effect on the creative output.

In 2012, band leaders and main composers Alex Staropoli and Luca Turilli decided to go separate ways. The remaining members, Staropoli, Fabio Lione, Alex Holzwarth, Oliver Holzwarth and new guitarist Roby De Micheli continued with RHAPSODY OF FIRE to release new music.

"Into The Legend" is entitled the band's brand new effort and continues in the same and classic unique blend of epic power metal, orchestra and baroque/soundtrack-like stuff. After the epic and 'haunting' intro of "In Principio" it comes the real thing! "Distant Sky" kicks-off with a crazy guitar solo that leaves you breathless and Fabio Lione's amazing and unique vocals that takes things to a higher level. This track is pure symphonic power metal bliss which every fan of this scene will adore!  "Into The Legend" is more straight forward power metal that includes 'rougher' and with more attitude vocals while in "A Voice In The Cold Wind" the band delivers a true gem! The epic and baroque pinches are more obvious and decorate perfectly this amusing song. "Shining Star" is yet another highlight from the new album; a slower cut that features Lione's passionate vocals, great and epic arrangements and a beautiful melody.

All in all, this is a true masterpiece of an album! A unique slice of modern symphonic power metal stuff from a great band.

Rating : 10/10

Track Listing :
01. In Principio
02. Distant Sky
03. Into The Legend
04. Winter's Rain
05. A Voice In The Cold Wind
06. Valley Of Shadows
07. Shining Star
08. Realms Of Light
09. Rage Of Darkness
10. The Kiss Of Life

1 comment: