Friday, July 24, 2015

REVIEW : KALEDON Chapter IV: Twilight Of The Gods (2015)

After the pretty solid release of "Antillius: The King Of The Light", last year, this powerful and melodic power metal band of Kaledon is back with "Chapter IV: Twilight Of The Gods". Originally recorded at Outer Sound Studios in Rome, Italy by Giuseppe Orlando (Novembre) in 2006, the album came out in Europe on Hellion records, in America on Universal Metal Production and in Asia on HotRockin!

The new version of the album has been completely remastered by Orlando and features two songs re-recorded by the band’s current line-up. The beautiful and completely renovated artwork was handled by Felipe Machado Franco (Blind Guardian, Rage, Rhapsody Of Fire).

To be honest here, for me Kaledon is one of the best epic/melodic power bands of the scene. They have the power, the melodies, the solid arrangements and, most of all, they know how to write a strong power metal song. The last two records were both very good and I really anticipated of a new record. And even though "Chapter IV: Twilight Of The Gods" is not a new one, for me that I didn't got the chance of listen to it back in its release(2006) date, it is like a brand new. After a couple of spins, I have to say that I enjoyed it a lot.

The sound is raw but at the same time powerful, the melodies and the 'clever' choruses give a sweet taste and the epic elements make the final result solid!!It's really unnecessary to write comments on each track separately for two reasons. First, 'cause the die-hards of the band know what to expect from this gem of an album and secondly for those who aren't familiar with the band's sound the one thing that I recommend to them is to do a favor to yourself and check out this brilliant record. I'm sure that there is no one out there who is a power metal fan and will not enjoy this opus by KALEDON. There are, also, two new versions included here, "The Holy Water" and "Into The Fog", performed by the new line-up that are both simply stunning!!!!

Rating : 9/10

Track Listing :
  1. The Holy Water 
  2. Hell on Earth 
  3. War Plans 
  4. Goodbye My Friend 
  5. Clash of the Titans
  6. Into the Fog 
  7. Eyes of Fire
  8. The Fury 
  9. New King of Kaledon 
  10. The Prophecy
  11. Out of the Ground 
  12.  The Holy Water (new version)
  13.   Into The Fog (new version)    

No comments:

Post a Comment