Saturday, July 25, 2015

REVIEW : SIMPLE LIES / Let It Kill (2015)

Let's start this review by saying that I' ve never heard of SIMPLE LIES before in my life till now that I received in my mail box its brand new album which is entitled "Let It Kill". From the first spin, it's loud and clear that these Italians are staying loyal to their roots. And which are their roots? The answer is as simple as that; good old fashioned heavy rock stuff with attitude!

From the opening tune of "A-Men" Simple Lies are showing their intentions which are to play loud what they like! "Freak Show" is a more in-your-face rocker while in "Let It Kill" we have the first highlight of the new record. This track is movin' into some more modern hard rock paths and the final result is simply ass-kickin'. The heavier and more aggressive "Look At Me Now" is good and in "Symmetry Of Love" I really dig the complex sound and the heavy to the bone guitars!!    

A solid release by Simple Lies that achieve to mix perfectly the late 80's hard rock sound with a more modern approach, heavy guitars and memorable choruses that makes the final result very attractive. 

Rating : 8/10

Track Listing :
1. Look At Me Now!
2. A-MEN
3. Sunday Morning Apologies
4. Symmetry Of Love
5. Freak Show
6. Miss Anthropy
7. Let It Kill You
8. The Ant
9. Past Frames
10. The King Is Dead

No comments:

Post a Comment