Sunday, March 16, 2014

LAWLESS / Rock Savage (2013)

LAWLESS is a new melodic hard rock band and "Rock Savage" is entitled their debut album which was released in 2013. Even if Lawless is a new band, the members are not new in the music business. For example, the lead singer Paul Hume and the drummer, Neil Ogden were both band-mates in DEMON. The other two members of Lawless are guitarist Howie G. of Persian Risk and Josh Williams (drums) of Headrush.

I have to admit that this little gem slipped through me from my last year's releases but as they say better late than never!! After my first spin of "Rock Savage", I have to say that I enjoyed it a lot; it's all about an old- fashioned melodic hard rock stuff with a solid production and some catchy enough hard rockers with very good melodies, big riffs and solos by Howie G. !!!

"Heavy Metal Heaven" is a true melodic hard 'n' heavy bliss!! Melodic as it gets with a sharp riff and powerful performances by Paul Hume!! "SOS" is another highlight from this debut. A great mid-tempo rocker with an explosive chorus line to whisper it for days!! The guitar solo is incredible here!! "Step In" includes a very nice groove while in "Scream" we have a monstrous riff and soloing!! Listen, also, to the great ballad of "Where Heroes Fall" which moved me so and grabbed my attention with its really superb soloing and its stunning performances!

So, the last thing that I have to add here is, for those you haven't already checked this solid melodic hard rock album, that you have to go out and buy this little gem right now!! It's heavy, it's melodic, it rocks with a unique way, it has some really inspired guitar lines in it but most of all it has attitude and an 80's, early 90's, vibe in it!!!! Highly recommended!
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 9/10

Track Listing :
1. Heavy Metal Heaven
2. Black Widow Ladies
3. F.O.A.D
4. Misery
5. SOS
6. Rock n Roll City
7. Step In
8. Scream
9. Pretender
10. Where Heroes Fall
11. Metal Time 

No comments:

Post a Comment