Friday, March 14, 2014

GUS G. / I Am The Fire (2014)

GUS G. is the virtuoso guitarist of the rock icon Ozzy Osbourne! He is, also, well-known as the man behind the power metal act of FIREWIND and as a member of Arch Enemy and Dream Evil!! His skills are simply breathtaking but GUS G. is not only a shredder, he is a very good songwriter as well and with this album he is proving that in a very good way!

In "I Am The Fire", Gus collaborates with some of the biggest names of the metal community and in the end he achieves to release a great melodic heavy rock effort. The record aws mixed by Jay Ruston (Anthrax, Steel Panther), and gives Gus the opportunity to explore a different side of his creativity. David Ellefson (Megadeth), Mats Leven (Dogface, Swedish Erotica, Treat among others), Jeff Scott Soto (Talisman, W.E.T.) and Billy Sheehan of Mr. Big are some of the names that are givin' their helping hand to Gus and make this album a great purchase for every fan out there!

"My Will Be Done" (feat. Mats Leven) that kicks-off the album is simply a brilliant melodic heavy rock gem!! Leven's vocals are top notch and Gus G. is delivering some really cool riffs and solos that make this track a highlight!! "Blame It On Me" (Mats Leven) is groovier with more attitude with a monstrous chorus line and Leven's soul-full performances!! "I Am The Fire" (Feat. Devour The Day) featuring a 'modern' hard rock vibe and the final result is stunning!! The rhythm, the arrangements...everything here is just great. The guitars are a bit heavier and Gus G. is playing his heart out here!! Excellent stuff! "Summer Days" (Feat. Soto) is THE highlight here! It is everything that you expect from a Soto tune; melodic, 'punchy' with a positive feeling and this time again Soto has an excellent guitarist by his side!!! Of course, there not only the above mentioned tracks the highlights in "I Am The Fire", every single song here is offering something on its own, from beautiful melodies (Dreamkeeper) to some bad-ass guitar solos (Vengeance) to some passionate performances like the last one "End Of The Line" (feat. Mats Levén).

A brilliant album from start to finish, period!! "I Am The Fire" includes great songs, a tight songwriting, great singers, great musicians and excellent playing!!! Do you want more? 
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 8,5/10

track listing :
01. My Will Be Done (feat. Mats Levén)
02. Blame It On Me (feat. Mats Levén)
03. I Am The Fire (feat. Devour The Day)
04. Vengeance (feat. David Ellefson)
05. Long Way Down (feat. Alexia Rodriguez)
06. Just Can't Let Go (feat. Jacob Bunton)
07. Terrified (feat. Billy Sheehan)
08. Eyes Wide Open (feat. Mats Levén)
09. Redemption (feat. Michael Starr)
10. Summer Days (feat. Jeff Scott Soto)
11. Dreamkeeper (feat. Tom S. Englund)
12. End Of The Line (feat. Mats Levén)

No comments:

Post a Comment