Saturday, February 2, 2013


Veteran power metallers Heimdall are ready to come back with their fifth album eight years after the release of their latest effort ‘Hard As Iron’. The band was reunited for a series of live shows at the beginning of 2012, adding new members to their ranks and with a renovated energy that led to the writing of new songs. ‘Aeneid’, this is the confirmed title of the new album, it is a monumental concept based on the epic masterpiece by Virgil, consisting of 12 tracks that combine classic heavy metal, melodic power metal but, also, some symphonic passages as well.

The fact is that I had nothing to do with the band's previous releases and I was a bit curious of what to expect from this one. 2012 was a great year considering of power metal/ melodic metal/ symphonic with a bunch of excellent releases. So, after a short intro, the album starts off with the dynamic and in-your-face tune of "Forced By Fate". Double-kick drumming, razor guitars and powerful performances make this track a great way to open this new opus. "Save You" features an intense melody and a catchy hook and chorus while the guitars take command and leave you hungry for more!! "Waiting For The Dawn" has an epic vibe in it while "Ballad Of The Queen" is an emotional ballad in an old fashioned 'Kings 'n' Queens' way.  Other highlights from "Aeneid" are "Gates Of War", the amazing with the brilliant guitar solo "Night On The World" and the 'theatrical' "Away".

All in all, this is a solid album! It has power, energy and everything that an ordinary metalhead will ask for. For the fans of symphonic power metal with big melodies, amazing guitar work and powerful performances, this is a MUST have! For the others, give it a try! 
HeavyParadise's Rating : 8/10

Track List :
1. Prologue 
2. Forced By Fate 
3. Save You 
4. Waiting For The Dawn 
5. Ballad Of The Queen 
6. Funeral Song (Instrumental) 
7. Underworld 
8. Gates Of War 
9. Hero 
10. Night On The World 
11. All Of Us 
12. Away 
13. The Last Act

1 comment:

  1. Hello to all, how is all, I think every one is getting more from this website, and your views are
    pleasant in support of new people.