Monday, December 3, 2012


Lionville is back to offer to us another great melodic rock album! The band that in 2011 released its debut brilliant effort and it was among the Top albums of that year is finally here again to give us another excellent effort!

The band consists of singer/guitarist Stefano Lionetti, the mighty Alessandro Del Vecchio on keys, Alessandro MoriLars Safsund of Work Of Art and, of course, the very talented guy of the excellent Shining Line project Pierpaolo Monti as Stefano's songwriting partner! Also, the participation of an impressive guest list of musicians such as Anna Portalupi (Hardline) Mario Percudani (Hungryheart) and Robert Sqll, Sven Larsson, Bill Champlin and Joe La Viola among others gives an extra flavor to the album's final result.

The album moves to the debut same and safe paths which means melodies, great arrangements, 'clever' choruses and hooks, a tight musicianship and passionate performances. For me, their debut album was and will be one of the best melodic records that has been released over the last decade. So, I was expecting this follow-up release anxiously. But again when you have all these all-star team up you can' t go wrong with this one!

"All We Need" is the opening track and what a brilliant way to start the album!! Harmonies and melodies from heaven with a feel good vibe and a great hook and chorus line to die for! " The Only Way Is Up" is another brilliant sample of pure melodic rock/westcoast sound! "Another Day" has a 'modern' rock feeling in it while "Higher", which features some vocal duties by Bill Champlin, is one of the album's highlights. Classic AOR sound with stunning vocal performances and a very good guitar work. "No Turning Back" is a very good ballad and "All This Time" is one of my favorite tunes from the new album!! It's one of these tracks that makes you feel good and put a smile on your face every time you hear it!! Excellent!!! "Next To Me" is heavenly influenced by the 80's AOR scene. It has nice arrangements, a superb melody and a catchy chorus. "Waiting For A Star To Fall", "Don't Walk Away" and "One In A Million" are all very good. "Shining Over Me" is an ok tune and the last "Open Your Heart" is an emotional ballad that closes this new album in a such a beautiful way!

Overall this is a brilliant album all the way. I can't say if this is better than the band's debut album but the sure thing is that this is one of the highlights for this year's melodic rock/AOR releases. Melodies, amazing harmonies, mature songwriting, passionate performances and some really stunning tracks all these in a must have release that will end up high in this year's Heavy Paradise's Top list!!!! Congratulations!!!
HeavyParadise's Rating : 8,5/10

Track List :

  1. All We Need
  2. The Only Way Is Up
  3. Another Day
  4. Higher
  5. No Turning Back
  6. All This Time
  7. Next To Me
  8. Waiting For A Star To Fall
  9. Don't Walk Away
  10. One In A Million
  11. Shining Over Me
  12. Open Your Heart

No comments:

Post a Comment