Saturday, October 17, 2015

REVIEW : VOODOO HILL / Waterfall (2015)

Album number three for the musical alliance between Italian axe-man Dario Mollo and legendary former Deep Purple singer / bass player Glenn Hughes. "Waterfall" is entitled Voodoo Hill's newest record and it's about an album that will please every single fan of the rock scene in general with the passion, the performances, the guitar work and the tracks that includes.

The positive thing here is that, finally, Hughes is back to the more straight forward hard rock stuff after the experiences with a more 70’s sound on his recent bands Black Country Communion and California Breed.

"All That Remains", the opener, is a great track all the way. It's one of those songs that makes your day no matter what. It's up-tempo, it includes some sweet guitar licks and the chorus line is catchy enough to sing-a-long. "Rattle Shake Bone" is movin' to some more late 80's hard rock paths with Hughes' passionate vocals and Mollo's heavy riffing in the front row. The 70's influences are obvious in the moody ballad "Waterfall" while in "Karma Go" the guys deliver an excellent rocker with attitude. One of the highlights here is without no doubt the ass-kickin' rocker tune of "Eldorado" with its memorable hook and chorus. I really loved the track that closes the new album, "Last Door", which is a cool and soulful rocker that features a superb guitar work by Mollo.

An extremely interesting release all the way that features a legendary singer as Glenn Hughes is and a guitar player who needs no introduction, Dario Mollo at his best. For the fans of the classic hard rock sound, this album is a must have!

Rating : 8,7/10

Track Listing :
01. All That Remains
02. The Well
03. Rattle Shake Bone
04. Underneath And Down Below
05. Waterfall
06. Karma Go
07. Evil Thing
08. Eldorado
09. White Feather
10. Sunflower
11. Last Door

No comments:

Post a Comment