Friday, October 9, 2015


One of todays hottest name in the melodic metal scene is without any doubt Magnus Karlsson. The extraordinary guitarist, songwriter, producer is responsible for many amazing bands/projects such as ALLEN/LANDE, STARBREAKER, BOB CATLEY, KISKE/SOMERVILLE and many others. In 2008, he joined the German Heavy Metal act of  PRIMAL FEAR and with them he has toured the world and recorded two successful albums.

In 2013, his debut album Magnus Karlsson's Free fall saw the light of day and it was about a brilliant slice of pure Euro Melodic Metal stuff that included a breathtaking list of guests. Nowadays, the artist is back with album number two and once again he gathers an impressive list of guest such as TONY HARNELL (Skid Row, TNT, Starbreaker), RICK ALTZI (Masterplan, At Vance), DAVID READMAN (Pink Cream 69, Voodoo Circle), JORN LANDE, JAKOB SAMUEL (The Poodles), JOE LYNN TURNER (Rainbow, Malmsteen, Deep Purple), TONY MARTIN (Black Sabbath), HARRY HESS (Harem Scarem) and REBECCA DE LA MOTTE that each one of the above mentioned musicians give the extra something to make the final result excellent!!!

The album kicks-off with the stunning "Kingdom Of Rock", a song that features Mr. Jorn, which is simply killer!! Powerful and extremely melodic this tune could easily appear in any of Allen-Lande previous albums! In "Out Of The Dark", Jakob Samuel of The Poodles delivers the goods with his unique voice while the heavy riffs of Karlsson will blow your mind! The legendary Joe Lynn Turner sings his heart out in "No Control", one of the albums highlights. The heavier "When The Sky Falls" (Tony Martin) and the ultra catchy "Angel Of The Night" (D. Readman) are both great samples of Karlsson's new work. With "I'm Coming For You" it's time for Magnus to take command regarding of the vocals and the result is this killer melodic hard rock gem! Brilliant stuff! "Another Life" (Rick Altzi) is good while in "Never Look Away" my favorite singer Tony Harnell appears and delivers a simply breathtaking tune that will please each and every single fan of TNT's earlier works. "A Heart So Cold" that features Harry Hess of Harem Scarem is an excellent melodic hard rock track with some beautiful AOR pinches. Rebecca De La Motte with "The Right Moment" gives the first slow moment of the album while in the last "Walk This Road Alone" Magnus Karlsson is once again behind the mic and delivers another solid rocker.

All in all, this is a damn fine piece of melodic metal record at its best! "Kingdom Of Rock" includes great performances by an impressive list of guests, tight and well-written songs, a solid production but, above all, it features the immense talent of Magnus Karlsson in all its splendor to haunt the final result!!! A big bravo for this excellent album!

Rating : 9/10 

Tracklisting:  Kingdom Of Rock (Jorn Lande, vocals); Out Of The Dark (Jakob Samuel, vocals); No Control (Joe Lynn Turner, vocals); When The Sky Falls (Tony Martin, vocals); Angel Of The Night (David Readman, vocals); I Am Coming For You (Magnus Karlsson, vocals); Another Life (Rick Altzi, vocals); Never Look Away (Tony Harnell, vocals); A Heart So Cold (Harry Hess, vocals); The Right Moment (Rebecca De La Motte, vocals); Walk This Road Alone (Magnus Karlsson, vocals).

No comments:

Post a Comment