Sunday, July 19, 2015

REVIEW : Pyramaze / Disciples of the Sun (2015)

The Danish melodic power metal act of PYRAMAZE is back, after seven years, with its brand new, and probably its best album to-date, "Disciples Of The Sun". Pyramaze consists of Jonah Weingarten on keyboards, Morten Gade Sørensen on drums, Toke Skjønnemand on guitars and, the new man on board, Terje Harøy on vocals. Jacob Hansen except the guitars he, also, handles here the production and the mixing of the new record and the final result is just killer!

The sound of PYRAMAZE is basically melodic power metal with a strong emphasis on big melodies and the memorable choruses, along with some strong progressive 'touches'. The production is strong as a rock with a fresh, almost modern, approach that makes the final result a must have for each and every single fan of the melodic metal scene in general. The guitars are big and 'fat', the rhythm section tight and the vocals are powerful. What else do I have to say to convince you that this album is brilliant? 

After the short and melodic intro of "We Are The Ocean", it comes the real thing; "The Battle Of Paridas" comes like a storm to sweep everything in its path! It's heavy, it's powerful but it contains a huge melody that hunts you for days! Excellent stuff! "Back For More" is pure melodic metal heaven; this track is probably one of the best tunes here and it is one of my favorites of this year. Extremely catchy with a chorus line to die for. "Fearless" is yet another highlight out of the new record. The progressive elements are making their appearance more clear here and along with the epic, almost theatrical, feeling makes the final result superb!! In "Perfectly Imperfect", we are dealing with a heavy, darker, rocker that the big star here is Terje Harøy who delivers some impressive vocals. Check out, also, the fast-paced tune of "Hope Springs Eternal" that features some really heavy to the bone guitars!!! 

Excellent album all the way! One of this year's biggest surprises so far. It's really heavy and extremely melodic at the same time, it includes an excellent songwriting, powerful vocals, a tight as hell musicianship and great arrangements! A big 10 out of 10 here......

Rating : 10/10

Track Listing :
1. We Are The Ocean
2. The Battle Of Paridas
3. Disciples Of The Sun
4. Back For More
5. Genetic Process
6. Fearless
7. Perfectly Imperfect
8. Unveil
9. Hope Springs Eternal
10. Exposure
11. When Black Turns To White
12. Photograph

No comments:

Post a Comment