Saturday, January 17, 2015

REVIEW : Serious Black / As Daylight Breaks (2015)

Serious Black is a 'new' metal band that consists of musicians that are very experienced in the hard rock/metal scene. Musicians such as Roland Grapow (Masterplan, ex-Helloween), Thomen Stauch (ex-Blind Guardian), Mario Lochert (ex-Visions Of Atlantis), Dominik Sebastian (Edenbridge), Jan Vacik (ex-Dreamscape) and vocalist Urban breed (ex-Tad Morose) are all high-skilled artists that join forces here to present us a solid debut album which is entitled "As Daylight Breaks".

The impressive thing here is that Serious Black shows an amazing musicianship and seems like these guys are together forever! The songs are all well-written, well-performed and overall you can hear elements of each member's main bands/projects on this album. The sound can be described as melodic metal with a strong emphasis on big melodies and heavy riffs and solos. Urban Breed's powerful performances are the cherry on top and finally make this release a pleasant ride for each and every single fan of this scene.

The album kicks-off with the pedal to the metal anthem of "I Seek No Other Life". A true and in an old-fashioned way metal song that will blow your mind! Next, "High And Low" is movin' to some more 'modern' melodic hard rock paths and the sure thing is that will grab you at once with its huge chorus line and its strong arrangements. "My Mystic Mind", "Setting Fire To The Earth" and "Listen To The Storm" are all three great samples of a band that for sure knows how to deliver strong and melodic metal songs.

An extremely interesting release all the way and for sure a must have album for every fan of the melodic metal scene. Powerful performances, a tight musicianship, strong songwriting and some great tracks are the ingredients of Serious Black debut album. Well done.

Rating : 8,5/10

Track Listing :
01. I Seek No Other Life
02. High And Low
03. Sealing My Fate
04. Temple Of The Sun
05. Akhenaton
06. My Mystic Mind
07. Trail Of Murder
08. As Daylight Breaks
09. Setting Fire To The Earth
10. Listen To The Storm
11. Older And Wise

No comments:

Post a Comment