Saturday, January 10, 2015

REVIEW : FURYON / Lost Salvation (2015)

As I said in my review for the band's newest single, "These Four Walls", Furyon is back with a monstrous melodic heavy rock appetizer of what's to expect from "Lost Salvation". Finally and after the solid debut release of "Gravitas" in 2012, this five piece UK act is back to business to present its brand new work.

The thing that impressed me in the debut was the musicianship; yep, this band seemed like they were together for a lifetime!! The other thing that impressed me equally was Matt Mitchell's performances. His vocal range is really amazing!! So, enough with the past, let's focus on "Lost Salvation" now!

"Lost Salvation" starts from were "Gravitas" stopped. Furyon took all the elements from the solid debut they put more muscle, more attitude, more melody, a bigger and polished sound and at the end achieves to present a great album all the way; "Lost Salvation"!!! For those who aren't familiar with Furyon's sound, let me tell you that it's a mix of a late 80's classic heavy rock with a strong dose of alternative (Alice In Chains for example) plus a more modern metallic edge and you'll get the picture.

"All That I Have" opens this album with its big and 'fat' sound and its 'darker' vibe. The guitars are heavy, the vocals powerful and the arrangements solid! For sure, a great sample of what's coming-up next! Next, "Lost Salvation" is pure delight! More melodies, more attitude, awesome guitars and a huge chorus line that grabs you at once and leaves you hungry for more!! If you dig CJ Snare's (Firehouse) work with Rubicon Cross, then you will love this one! "These Four Walls" and "Resurrect Me" are both great modern heavy rock tunes while in "Dematerialize" we are dealing with another highlight out of the new album; a modern rock gem with a 'clever' melody, a really huge and inspired guitar solo and some excellent arrangements!! Superb stuff!

FURYON with "Lost Salvation" achieves to take things to a new and higher level regarding of "Gravitas". The new record is powerful, more exciting with great arrangements and the sure thing is that will please each and every single fan of rock music in general! 

Rating : 9/10

Track Listing :
1. All That I Have
2. Lost Salvation
3. These Four Walls
4. Scapegoat
5. Resurrect Me
6. Left It With The Gods
7. Good Sky
8. Dematerialize
9. What You Need
10. Wiseman


Matt Mitchell - Vocals
Alex "Nickel" Bowen - Bass
Lee Farmery - Drums
Luca Faraone - Guitars
Tiago Rosado – Guitars

Recording musician:
Chris Green - Guitars

No comments:

Post a Comment