Friday, April 25, 2014

SUNSTRIKE / Rock Your World (2014)

SunStrike is a new melodic rock band that hails from (where else?) Sweden. The band consists of Christian Hedgren on vocals, Johan Lindstedt on drums, Joachim Nordlund on lead guitar, Fredrik Plahn on keyboards, Mats Gesar on guitars and Bjorn Lundqvist on bass. Their goal is to deliver pure 80's, early 90's, melodic rock stuff and believe me, you will be surprised by how good is the final result!

The man who is responsible for mixing and mastering of Sunstrike's debut album is no other than the extremely talented musician Erik Mårtensson (ECLIPSE, W.E.T). The opening tune of "Power Of The Dreams" really rocked my world for good. Somewhere between Treat and H.E.A.T., Sunstrike achieves to deliver a great melodic rock gem with a catchy as hell chorus line, powerful vocal lines, very good guitar work and sweet keys for a better balance. Pure candy in my ears! "Rock Your World" is yet another killer and extremely melodic song and, of course, one of the album's highlights. "Fireball" is heavier with a huge harmony, attitude and everything to become a future fan favorite. Just listen to the big chorus and you'll be hit by a melodic hard rock dynamite!! "Rock It Out" sounds a lot like H..e.a.t.'s latest work while in "Scream & Shout" we have another highlight; man this is an ass-kickin' in-your-face rocker that takes no prisoners! Brilliant stuff! Listen, also, to the sweet and commercial tune of "Never Let You Go" with its amazing chorus line and you'll understand what I'm talkin' about here.

Great stuff! Pure melodic rock bliss by this newcomer. This is a sensational release for every melodic rock fan out there that like great melodies, emotional and at the same time powerful vocal lines and most of all great songs. I can assure you that this little gem achieved to rock my world for good. Erik Mårtensson has done an excellent job here and I'm sure that we are going to hear even bigger things from them in the near future. Well done!
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 9/10

Track Listing :
1. Power Of The Dreams
2. Rock Your World
3. Fireball
4. Right Track
5. Roll The Dice
6. Rock It Out
7. Never Let You Go
8. Higher
9. Scream And Shout
10. Into The Light
11. Edge Of Life
12. Heat Of The Night

1 comment:

  1. Just finally gave this album a chance and really liking it.

    H.e.a.t is one of my favorite bands going right now...And this release sorta reminds me of H.e.a.t's debut album.

    I'm not sure if there are really huge, standout tracks...But the whole album is really well done and is the kind of melodic, slightly heavier type of AOR I crave these days.

    Highlights for me are Rock Your World, Never Let You Go, Right Track and Roll The Dice.

    Great job and look forward to hearing more from these guys in the future.