Friday, February 7, 2014

VANISHING POINT / Distant Is the Sun (2014)

Vanishing Point is a melodic power metal band with the progressive element strong in its sound and nowadays the band presents its newest effort which is entitled "Distant Is The Sun". To be real honest here, I had never heard anything from the band's earliest works and, after the first spin of this opus, I enjoyed it a lot!

As I already mentioned above, and for those who are not familiar with the band's sound, Vanishing Point's music is pure Euro melodic power metal with some progressive pinches, and some epic touches as well, with powerful performances, great arrangements and a really solid guitar work. The thing that I liked most here is the melody which exists in every single moment of this record and gives a sweet taste in my ears.

There are many highlights here such as the dynamic "Beyond Redemption", the heavy riffing tune of "King Of Empty Promises" with this amazing proggy vibe in it, the melodic and my personal favorite "Distant Is The Sun" and "Circle Of Fire" (feat.Tony Kakko of Sonata Arctica as guest). Check, also, "Era Zero", "Pillars of Sand" and "December Fades" that are all three great samples of a very good band.

Overall, this is an extremely interesting release from Vanishing Point that can't be missed by any fan of the Euro melodic power metal scene. A solid record that includes a tight musicianship, solid performances and some really well-crafted songs.
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 8/10

Track List :
1. Beyond Redemption (Intro)
2. King Of Empty Promises
3. Distant Is The Sun
4. When Truth Lies
5. Circle Of Fire
6. Denied Deliverance
7. Let The River Run
8. Story Of Misery
9. Era Zero
10. Pillars Of Sand
11. As December Fades
12. Handful Of Hope
13. Walls Of Silence
14. April

No comments:

Post a Comment