Saturday, January 18, 2014

AXEL RUDI PELL / Into The Storm (2014)

No mattter if you are a fan or not of this guitarist, there is no doubt about the talent of Axel Rudi Pell. "Into The Storm" is entitled the artist's fifteenth release and, if you ask me, I would dare to say that this is probably one of the best Axel Rudi Pell's albums to date!!

The new line-up features Axel Rudi Pell on guitars, the amazing Johnny Gioeli on vocals, Bobby Rondinelli on drums, Volker Krawczak on bass and Ferdy Doernberg on keyboards. And even that this new album is movin' into the same, safe, paths of their previous records, the final result is solid. The performances of Johnny Gioeli are top-notch the musicianship is tighter than ever, Pell's guitar lines are once again inspired and in this album you can find some really killer tunes!!

The first big moment of "Into The Storm" comes with the incredible rockier tune of "Long Way To Go" which is the perfect mix between Hardline and Axel Rudi Pell's releases!! Simply fantastic track with a killer chorus line! "Burning Chains" is a fast-paced rocker that takes no prisoners! A razor guitar riff, attitude and powerful performances in this melodic metal anthem! The soft piano lines along with the emotional vocal lines in "When Truth Hurts" proves that this band has not lost its ability to create a fantastic power ballad. "High Above" is good while there is a cover track here, "Hey Hey My My", of Neil Young's earlier hit that is a true masterpiece!!

All in all, this is an excellent melodic hard rock/metal album. As I said above, the musicianship is tight and the performances of Johnny Gioeli are simply stunning; the guitar lines of Pell are once again the highlight here and the existence of some killer tracks in "Into The Storm" make it a must have for every serious hard 'n heavy fan out there!
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 8/10

Track List :
01. The Inquisitorial Procedure
02. Tower Of Lies
03. Long Way To Go
04. Burning Chains
05. When Truth Hurts
06. Changing Times
07. Touching Heaven
08. High Above
09. Hey Hey My My
10. Into The Storm
11. White Cats [Opus #6 Scivolare] (Digipak Bonus Track)
12. Way to Mandalay (Digipak Bonus Track) 

No comments:

Post a Comment