Friday, October 4, 2013


"No More Hell To Pay" is entitled the eighth official album of veteran Christian hard rockers Stryper. The production of the new essay is handled by the band's natural leader and singer Michael Sweet and it's about a back to their roots release!

Their sound is a bit updated with a heavier rotation with some really inspired riffs and solos, nice melodies and Michael Sweet's strong vocal performances! The line up is the original that has released all the classic albums and consists of Michael Sweet on vocals and guitars, Robert Sweet on drums, the amazing and probably one of the most underrated guitarists of that scene, Oz Fox on lead guitars, and, finally, Tim Gaines on bass.

Stryper has always been one of the leading representatives of the Christian metal / hard rock scene and became known for their famous shows where they were distributing bibles to their fans . Also known for their black and yellow uniforms, they stood out and they were generally of the bands that were on each disc, characterized by the beautiful compositions and a perfect harmony between ballads and rhythmic tracks. For me their top moment was, is and will be the fantastic and unbeatable "Against The Law"!!!

But enough with the past and what was then and what they did back then; let's come to now and the brand new "No More Hell To Pay" release. After a couple of spins, what I can say is that I really enjoyed this new effort a lot! The Stryper of today is trying to combine then and now and I have to admit that they do it well- enough. They still can write a strong melodic metal anthem ("Saved By Love"), an amazing hard rock song with smart orchestrations ("The One"), a future-classic Stryper song ("Jesus Is Just Alright") and certainly can be proud that once again they generously are offering us a strong album with quality songs and with tight and powerful performances! Get ready ..........Stryper are back ......
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 8/10

Track List :
  1. Revelation
  2. No More Hell To Pay
  3. Saved By Love
  4. Jesus Is Alright
  5. The One
  6. Legacy
  7. Marching Into Battle
  8. Te Amo
  9. Sticks & Stones
  10. Water Into Wine
  11. Sympathy
  12. Renewed

No comments:

Post a Comment