Saturday, October 12, 2013


Melodic hard rock sensation House Of Shakira is back with the brand new release which is entitled "Pay To Play". This is the band's second effort with Andeas Novak on lead vocals. In it's HOS history, the band has already released six albums and achieved to build a strong reputation in the melodic hard rock world.

From the very first spin of "Pay To Play", the band is moving in the same safe melodic hard rock paths of its earlier releases with a modern twist. The album is full of big hooks and sing-a-long choruses, a great musicianship, solid performances and a 'crunchy' guitar sound. The elements of classic rock bands such as Def Leppard, Thin Lizzy or even Queen are obvious and the modern rock pinches are givin' to the whole album the extra flavor! For example, the amazing second track of the album, "Bending The Law", could easily be characterized as a modern-Queen influenced rocker and one of the album's highlights. "All You Want" includes a more commercial sound, a simply feel-good chorus line and Novak's solid performances. There are, also, a couple, and more, good enough modern melodic rockers enough to make you sing them along for days such as "When The Cat's Away", "Draw The Line", "Dog Eat Dog" and "Talk Of The Town".

Bottom line is that House Of Shakira is back to offer us one of their best records to date. Very good songs, powerful performances, a solid production and excellent guitar work!! Recommended stuff! 
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 8/10

Track List :
01 - Pay to Play
02 - Bending the Law
03 - All You Want
04 - When the Cat's Away
05 - Dopamine Junkie
06 - Draw the Line
07 - Dog Eat Dog
08 - Give Me More
09 - Tried and True
10 - Talk of the Town
11 - Two Things
12 - Same Old Story

No comments:

Post a Comment