Sunday, October 6, 2013


One of the best melodic hard rock/metal bands of the last decade, Eden's Curse, is finally back with its brand new opus which entitled "Symphony Of Sin". This time Eden's Curse have two new members on board, the Serbian vocalist Nikola Mijic and the well-known keyboardist Steve Williams.

After my first spin of "Symphony Of Sin", one thing is sure; the new record is probably their best to date!! Yes, the boys put heart and soul and deliver a strong melodic metal album full of huge melodies and harmonies, clever hooks and choruses, a tight musicianship and, most of all, very good songs!!! Once again, the mighty Dennis Ward is responsible for the production and the artwork is handled by the well-known graphic designer Thomas Ewerhard.

The opening tune of "Symphony Of Sin" is pure melodic hard rock bliss!!! The incredible melody, the fantastic guitar lines, the strong arrangements along with the passionate performances of Mijic make this single track a great appetizer of what's coming-up next!!! "Break The Silence" is a harder edged song with some harder-AOR pinches and a great chorus line. "Evil & Divine" is again a solid melodic hard rock track with stunning harmonies, up-tempo rhythms and a huge guitar work! Excellent!! Next, "Unbreakable" is about an amazing hook-laden hard-AORish tune and one of my personal favorites from the new album. "Fallen From Grace" is a very good power ballad while "Losing My Faith" is heavier and includes a great guitar solo to die for! "Rock Bottom", "Great Unknown" and "Turn The Page" are all three great examples of pure melodic hard rock/metal stuff with powerful performances, solid orchestrations and memorable choruses. "Sign Of The Cross" is flirting with some more U.S. flavored straight forward hard rock sound while "Wings To Fly" is the absolute highlight here!! The AOR elements along with the harder edged guitar sound make this track one of this year's best tunes! "Devil In Disguise" is another heavy riffing anthemic melodic metal song and the last one, "Where Is The Love" is a great example of pure melodic hard rock heaven!

The year of the Curse? Probably yes; the only thing that is sure is that "Symphony Of Sin" is one of the best melodic hard rock/metal albums of the recent years full of passionate performances and incredible guitar work, huge melodies, a tight musicianship and killer songs!!! Buy or die!!!
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 9/10

Track List :

1. Symphony Of Sin
2. Break The Silence
3. Evil & Divine
4. Unbreakable
5. Fallen From Grace
6. Losing My Faith
7. Rock Bottom
8. Great Unknown
9. Turn The Page
10. Sign Of The Cross
11. Wings To Fly
12. Devil In Disguise
13. Where Is The Love?

Line Up :
Nikola Mijic (Vocals)
Thorsten Koehne (Guitars)
Paul Logue (Bass)
Steve Williams (Keys)
Pete Newdeck (Drums)

No comments:

Post a Comment