Friday, February 22, 2013

W.E.T. / RISE UP (2013)

With their debut album, W.E.T. rocked our world in a very melodic way! The melodies, the performances, the choruses, the musicianship, everything were in a perfect harmony. The fact is that after this album, nobody expected a second one! It seemed like a one album deal and W.E.T. was like a super-group project. Nowadays, the band is back with flesh and blood and ready for the second strike!

"Rise Up" is titled the band's brand new release and, believe me, this is going to be another classic melodic hard rock record. Jeff Scott Soto, Erik Martensson, Robert Sall, Robban Back and Magnus Henriksson are back to offer to us another killer effort full of inspired guitar riffs and solos, Soto's passionate vocals and a tight as hell musicianship! I'm really blown away by this melodic masterpiece! Every single track here has a huge chorus line to whisper for days, a 'crunchy' guitar lick, some impressive big and fat drumming and overall it's a melodic bliss experience!

The opening track "Walk Away" is just a killer, totally commercial melodic hard rock tune. The chorus line seemed like it came out from the glory 80's and the solo is out of this world!  "Learn To Live Again", which features some vocal duties by Erik, is the album's first single and it's simply huge. Extremely catchy with a hook and chorus to die for! "Rise Up" has a moodier feeling in it and "Love Heals" is the first big ballad. This is a classy ballad, very emotional with Soto's warm vocal performances on front row! "What You Want", "The Moment" and "Bad Boy" are all three brilliant melodic rock tunes with bombastic choruses and an up-tempo vibe that makes you wanna push the repeat button again and again!!! "On The Run" it's a good one while "Broken Wings" has a nice groove in it and reminds of Soto's solo works. "Shot" is another excellent example of what this band is capable of when it comes to some serious ass-kickin' hard rock tune. "Still Believe In Us" is yet another great ballad and "Still Unbroken", which closes the album, is a punchy harder edged rocker!

All in all, this is a superb slice of melodic hard rock stuff! As I said earlier, this is a true masterpiece. The guys achieved to outreach themselves here! Everything that we loved in their debut release is here with more passion, more power, more melody!! For sure, this record will end-up in this year's Top three releases and will make all the crazy melodic hard rockers out there happy! Well done!
HeavyParadise's Rating : 10/10

Track List :
01. Walk Away
02. Learn to Live Again
03. Rise Up
04. Love Heals
05. What You Want
06. The Moment
07. Bad Boy
08. On The Run
09. Broken Wings
10. Shot
11. Still Believe In Us
12. Still Unbroken

Jeff Scott Soto: Lead Vocals
Erik Martensson: Guitars, Bass, Keyboards, Vocals
Robert Sall: Keyboards, Guitars
Robban Back: Drums
Magnus Henriksson: Guitars

1 comment:

  1. cant agree more. Much better than the first and also much better than Fair warning in the second place