Monday, February 11, 2013


Hollywood sleaze rockers FASTER PUSSYCAT made their mark in the world with a self-titled debut in 1987 and the 1989 gold album „Wake Me When It’s Over“, which spawned the hit single and video „House Of Pain“. The Band originally formed in 1985, famously taking ist name from the Russ Meyer oult film „Faster Pussycat! Kill! Kill!“. During their early commercial peak the band line-up was Taime Downe (vocals), Greg Steele, (guitar), Brent Muscat (guitar), Kelly Nickels (bass) and Mark Michaels (drums).

In 1992 the band split-up and Downe formed a new group, the darkly brilliant NEWLYDEADS, along with Kyle Kyle (BANG TANGO). NEWLYDEADS self-titled LP appeared in 1997. They released a remix project called Re-Bound shortly thereafter and Dead End in 2001. That same year Downe resurrected a rock-driven, more evolved FASTER PUSSYCAT with original members Muscat (guitar) and Steele (guitar) playing alongside NEWLYDEADS Xristian Simon (guitar), Danny Nordahl (bass), and Chad Stewart (drums) The newly re-formed FASTER PUSSYCAT was quick to put out „Between The Valley Of The Ultra Pussy“, a collection of industrial remixes of the band’s early songs produced by Downe.

Several years, several tours, and a few member changes later they released „The Power & The Glory Hole“ on Full Effect Records for Amercia and City Of Lights Records for Europe. It is their first full-length album since many years and came packed with raw grinding shards of truth that cut straight through our illusions about sex, love, reputation and death.

"Number 1 With A Bullet" is the opening track and it's about a classic Pussycat track with a 'modern' vibe in it!! It's a raw song with the band's familiar attitude but the 'modern' vibe ruins the final result!! "Gotta Love It" has a nice hook and chorus and reminds the band's hey days. Up next it's "Useless" and it's useless..... oh my God; this is a bad nu-rock song!!!! From the rest of the songs, there are a couple of that I enjoyed but, unfortunately, I caught myself pushing the 'next' button again and again in most of the tracks!!!!!

Overall, this is an average album!! The industrial and nu-rock elements ruins every single track here! Most of the songs have the old spark in it (hooks, riffs, choruses..e.t.c.) but as I said the new elements are spoiling them. By the way, the decision is yours.
HeavyParadise's Rating : 5/10

Track List :
01. Number 1 With A Bullet
02. Gotta Love It
03. Useless
04. Sex Drugs & Rock 'N' Roll
05. Disintegrate
06. These Boots Are Made For Walking
07. Hey You
08. Porn Star
09. The Power & The Glory Hole
10. Shut Up & Fuck
11. Bye Bye Bianca

No comments:

Post a Comment