Saturday, October 1, 2016

REVIEW : THE RADIO SUN – Outside Looking In (2016)

Australian Melodic Hard Rockers The Radio Sun is back in business with their brand new record with the title "Outside Looking In". The band which has already released two very good albums and received very positive feedback from both fans and rock press is now ready to impress us again with its new "Outside Looking In" effort.

Paul Laine (solo, ex-Danger Danger, The Defiants) lends a hand with the production duties but also features in one song along with the main singer Jason Old. The Radio Sun continues to deliver its catchy and up-tempo melodic rock/hard rock stuff with nice vocal harmonies, clever hooks and choruses and brilliant melodies.

Along with the first song, "Can't Get You Out Of My Head", comes the first highlight!! A superb and heavier melodic hard rock gem with a huge chorus line to sing-a-long and some excellent harmonic parts to die for!!! "You'll Never Know" starts in a so emotional way that you think is about a ballad!! But it explodes into a hungry hard rock beast ready to grab you!!! In "Switch Off The World Tonight", the boys deliver a sweet pop-ish and commercial rock tune while in the melodic "Broken" we have a very nice mid-tempo song with a beautiful guitar solo. "Wink & Smile" (feat. Paul Laine) is just killer melodic hard rock at its best!!! Up-tempo and melodic as it gets this track is pure candy in my ears!!!  "My Heart Is On Fire" is punchier and in "Baby Blue" we have another superb piece of pure melodic rock bliss!!! Another personal favorite track is the one that closes this new release, the rawer and edgier "Beautiful".

Bottom line is that The Radio Sun is back with a big record!!! Yes, this is in my humble opinion the band's best release to-date. Edgier with bigger melodies and catchier songs, "Outside Looking In" comes to prove that this band has the talent and the potential to become bigger!!!!

Rating : 9/10

Track Listing :
01) Can't Get You Out Of My Head 04:16
02) Standing On The Edge Of Love 03:50
03) You'll Never Know 04:04
04) Switch Off The World Tonight 03:13
05) Broken 03:24
06) Fall To Pieces 03:53
07) Wink & Smile 03:33
08) Outside Looking In 04:30
09) My Heart Is On Fire 03:57
10) Baby Blue 04:46
11) Falling For You 04:25
12) Bullet Proof 03:11
13) Someone Tell Me Why My Heroes Are All Dying (bonus)
14) Beautiful (bonus)

No comments:

Post a Comment