Wednesday, November 11, 2015

REVIEW : DEF LEPPARD / Def Leppard (2015)

The band that rightly is considered of as one of the most iconic bands of the rock scene in general, the band that sold over 25 million copies worldwide with the classic "Hysteria", the band that has been to hell and back again after the tragic loss of its original guitarist Steve Clark and the band that ranked No. 31 in VH1's "100 Greatest Artists of Hard Rock" and ranked No. 70 in "100 Greatest Artists of All Time" is finally back to the music scene with a brand new record that is called "Def Leppard".

After the pretty solid album, "Songs From The Sparkle Lounge", in 2008, the time was right for this legendary UK band to make its comeback. 'Def Leppard' marks the return of Def Leppard to their classic big sound of "Hysteria", the more commercial sound of "Adrenalize" and to the more straight forward sound of "X" and "S.l.a.n.g.". Pour a strong dose of "Pyromania" and some modern pinches here and there and there you have Def Leppard of 2015.

The new album kicks-off with the up-tempo big rock anthem of "Let's Go" and continues with another big anthem such as "Dangerous". I think that both tracks will be future classics and fan favorites. The biggest surprise is without any doubt the bass-driven and very 80's "Man Enough". "We Belong" is a typical Def Leppard ballad and a song that each member contribute in the vocals while in "Invincible" we are dealing with a modern rock monstrous tune that includes a catchy as hell melody and a sing-a-long chorus line. At this point, I have to say that Joe Elliot's vocals are top notch! The new album, also, includes some excellent fast-paced rockers like "Sea Of Love", "All Time High" and the ultra catchy "Broke 'N' Brokenhearted" that certify that Def Leppard haven't forgotten how to write a 'ballsy' kick-ass hard rock song.

Ladies and gentlemen, let's welcome back Def Leppard and let's hope that we don't have to wait for another eight years for a new record. Another classic album and another highlight for 2015.

Rating : 10/10

Track Listing :
“Let’s Go”
“Man Enough”
“We Belong”
“Sea of Love”
“All Time High”
“Battle of My Own”
“Broke ‘N’ Brokenhearted”
“Forever Young”
“Last Dance”
“Wings of an Angel”
“Blind Faith”

No comments:

Post a Comment