Wednesday, October 28, 2015

REVIEW : Sergeant Steel / Riders Of The Worm (2015)

Allow me to start the review by saying that the band's latest work "Man On A Mission", that was released in 2013, left me with the best impressions. Well-played melodic heavy rock stuff with strong melodies, catchy hooks and choruses and great guitar work that brings back memories of the late 80's, early 90's, L.A. hard rock/hair metal scene.

Nowadays, these Austrians are ready to unleash their brand new opus with the title "Riders Of The Worm", which, I'm damn sure, will be a must have for all the hard rock freaks around the world!!

Already with the first notes of "Happy Time (Love On Demand)", Sergeant Steel show us their 'teeth' and offer an incredible hair metal anthem that could be easily be a big hit back in MTV's glorious dayz! I should, also, mention here that in the new cd we find some guest appearances from Mark Slaughter (Slaughter, Vinnie Vincent Invasion) and Kane Roberts (Alice Cooper). The production is handled from the legendary Michael Wagener (Metallica, Ozzy Osbourne, Skid Row, etc).

With "Silver Spoon", in which Kane Roberts makes his appearance, the guys manage to release another killer commercial track that features a sing-a-long chorus line. Mark Slaughter offers some vocal duties in the very good tune of "Young and Hungry" while in "Only Good Girls" Sergeant Steel delivers a solid fast-paced rocker. One of my favorites songs from the new record is "Rock N Roll Highway" that features a great solo.

As Rolling Stones rights said :"It's only rock n roll ...... but I like it ....". Yes, this album may does not claim laurels of originality but it's, for sure, a damn fine disc full of catchy up-tempo tracks, great guitar work and passionate performances that will please every single fan of pure hard rock sound.

Highly recommended stuff!

Rating : 9/10

Track Listing :
01. Happy Time (Love On Demand)
02. Dirty Habits
03. Silver Spoon - feat. Kane Roberts
04. Where My Heart Is
05. Young And Hungry - feat. Mark Slaughter
06. Only Good Girls (Love A Rock ‘n’ Roll Boy)
07. Hot Widow
08. Mr. Right
09. Can’t Take My Hands
10. Rock ’n’ Roll Highway
11. Samsara
12. Promised Land
13. Trouble Maker

No comments:

Post a Comment