Tuesday, October 20, 2015

REVIEW : Mad Hornet / Would You Like Something Fresh? (2015)

Mad Hornet was born in 2006 in a small town near Taranto, Italy. A self-produced demo titled “Shout From The South" was recorded the same year. A few months later, they chose to continue without keyboards, moving to a more hair metal-oriented sound that characterizes their debut album "Hot Tarots" that saw the light of day in 2007.

The album received a positive feedback and the band played in several concerts with a highly positive response.  In 2009, the band split-up due to problems and Ken Lance (Salvatore Destratis, guitar) started to collaborate with national pop artists. In 2013, with the addition of the powerful bass player El Piamba (Alessandro Saracino), who collaborated with Mic Martini (Mimmo Maiorano, vocals) and Beats Frank (Francesco Duggento, drums) in previous musical experiences, Mad Hornet was back in business!

The band released its self-produced record "Would You Like Something Fresh?" in February 2015, that captured the attention of the promo agency Atomic Stuff. Mad Hornet signed a deal with Atomic Stuff and, nowadays, the album is out by the above mentioned record label.

Mad Hornet sounds like a typical hair metal band but with a fresh, more modern, approach that's givin' the extra flavor to the final result. Check out the great "Your Body Talks" that's has something that recalls back to the late 80's hair metal scene or the melodic "Blue Blood" that includes a sing-a-long chorus line and a really excellent guitar solo. "Raise 'n' Do It" grooves good while in "Game Of Death" we are dealing with one of the album's best tracks. This is a straight forward commercial rocker that takes no prisoners. I, also, enjoyed some bluesier 'touches' in most of the songs.

If you into the late 80's, early 90's, Hard Rock/Hair Metal stuff, then Mad Hornet is your band and "Would You Like Something Fresh?" is the album that will pay your attention at once. Well done! Powerful songs, very good performances and attitude...that's the ingredients of "Would You Like Something Fresh?"

Rating : 8/10

Track Listing :
1. Would You Like Something Fresh?
2. Your Body Talks
3. Dyin’ Love
4. Blue Blood
5. Free Rock Machine
6. Game Of Death
7. Rise ‘N’ Do It
8. Walking With You (In The Afternoon)
9. Pink Pants School
10. What Is Love [HADDAWAY cover]
11. Roses Under The Rain

No comments:

Post a Comment