Saturday, July 26, 2014

ADRIAN WEISS / Easy Game (2014)

Three years after the solid debut "Big Time", Adrian Weiss is back with his brand new "Easy Game". To be honest here, I really enjoyed Weiss' first release, it was a fine piece of guitar-driven effort featuring some really impressive riffs and solos and showed his talent not only as a guitarist but as a composer too.

Nowadays, Weiss (is also the new guitarist for heavy metal band Gloryful) with his new step takes the music to a rougher path without loosing the melody and for the first time he, also, incorporates Adrian's guitar slapping technique. Among others, the following guest musicians are featured on Easy Game: Christian Muenzner (Obscura, Necrophagist, solo artist), Demian Heuke (These Are The Days, solo artist – currently promoting solo album Treumal), Manuel Franken (Korsakow), Jens Basten (Gloryful, Night In Gales, Deadsoil), Vito Papotto (Exotoxis, Gloryful) and Thorsten Praest (Gut, Coldseed).

The album was recorded, engineered and mixed by Tim Schulte in Hilden, Germany, between
December 2013 and May 2014 and mastered by Eroc at EMR in June 2014. The artwork is handled by Björn Gooßes of Killustrations.

So, what we have here is another interesting slice of instrumental music that has it all!! Take for example "Awkward Silence"and "Instant Relief" that both includes tight arrangements, progressive 'touches' and impressive soloing or the 'oriental' "Hacienda" or the huge groovy tune of "Second Sunrise" or even the 'wah-wah' with the incredible solo "Camels Dance"...or.... you can listen to the whole album 'cause there's no filler in sight!!!

In my humble opinion, "Easy Game" takes things a step forward regarding of the debut. The music is tighter, it mixes perfectly many genres, many of his influences and the bottom line is that this is not your ordinary instrumental album. This is music folks with heart and soul!!
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 9/10 

Track Listing :
01. Awkward Silence
02. Instant Relief
03. Aim to Please
04. Immediate Measures
05. The Last Days
06. Hacienda (feat. Christian Muenzner)
07. Camel's Dance
08. Second Sunrise
09. The Offering
10. Easy Game
11. Night Owl
12. Offbeat Frankenstine (feat. Manuel Franken)

No comments:

Post a Comment