Sunday, March 2, 2014

FREE SPIRIT / All The Shades Of Darkened Light (2014)

Finnish melodic hard rockers Free Spirit are back with album number two! "All The Shades Of Darkened Light" is entitled the band's next step and it's about an amazing melodic hard rock effort full of big and sing-a-long choruses, an excellent musicianship, 'clever' guitar riffs and solos and a crispy sound that will please every fan of the Scandinavian melodic hard rock scene!

From the opening tune of "Nights Of Paradise", Free Spirit is offering an up-tempo melodic hymn with a chorus line to die for! All of the elements of Reckless Love, H.E.A.T. and Crazy Lixx are here along with the melodic hard rock sound of the 80's, early 90's, and the result is huge!! This track made my day! "Living Tattoo" is a bit rawer, a bit heavier but overall solid! "Hysteria" is a true highlight! A foot stomping melodic hard rock dynamite with an explosive hook and chorus to die for! The melodies are huge and the Leppard spirit is all over the song! "Turn On The Night" is a great ballad with a strong AOR vibe in it! Lovely song! "Carry On" is the typical big and extremely melodic AOR gem of the album! A brilliant melody, an instant classic that grabs you from the start and makes you push the repeat button again and again!!!

Free Spirit is here to make some noise in the melodic hard rock/AOR world with this excellent album! Call it whatever you like, AOR or Hard Rock or Melodic Rock, it doesn't matter; the only thing that counts here is that "All The Shades Of Darkened Light" is a great album all the way!!!! The next big thing from Scandinavia......
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 9/10

Track Listing :
01 - Nights Of Paradise
02 - Living Tattoo
03 - Hysteria
04 - Ever Come True
05 - The Dew Of The Rose
06 - Turn On The Night
07 - Burning Love
08 - Carry On
09 - Fever
10 - Silence
11 - Storyline

No comments:

Post a Comment