Thursday, January 23, 2014

LOVER UNDER COVER / Into The Night (2014)

This sensational melodic rock band, Lover Under Cover, is back with its brand new release which is entitled "Into The Night". Mikael Erlandsson-vocals (Last Autumns Dream), the brain child behind of this project Mikael Carlsson-bass, the amazing guitarist Martin Kronlund and Coldspell's drummer Perra Johnsson are back to deliver another brilliant and extremely melodic piece that can't be missed by any fan of this scene!

"Into The Night" has everything that an ordinary melodic fan could ask for; soulful and passionate performances by an amazing singer, inspired and tasty guitar lines from a really very gifted guitarist, a tight as hell musicianship, killer tracks, catchy chorus lines and a solid production! What else do you want?

"A Fight" kicks-off the album with a nice riff and a memorable chorus while "Into The Shadows" is the first highlight here! It rocks with attitude and has a great up-tempo rhythm with a monstrous chorus to die for! "Miracle" is another high energetic tune that made me push the repeat button several times. Man, I just can't get enough of this one!! "Toy Soldier" is a nice cover of the 80's pop-hit while "Crushing Stones" is one of my, already too many, favorites here! It rocks with an 80's vibe and impresses with its solid rhythm and its huge guitar work! "Life Is Easy" is a good modern rocker, "Playboy No.7" features a punchier sound and "The Game Is On" includes some great lyrics and harmonies! "Fantasy Man" and "Closer To The Truth" are both solid to come to the last track, the Bon Jovi-esque "No Place Like Home", which is simply fantastic!! It features a sweet melody, heart-full performances and a great chorus line!

This is a great and extremely melodic release all the way! Lover Under Cover with "Set The Night On Fire" gave us a solid debut album last year but with this new one the guys are aiming for some bigger things! The musicianship is tighter, the songwriting is better, the melodies are bigger, the choruses are catchier, the sound is a bit updated and everything here is so enjoyable from start to finish! Well done!
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 9/10

Track List : 
01 - A Fight
02 - Into The Shadows
03 - Miracle
04 - Toy Soldier
05 - Crushing Stones
06 - Life Is Easy
07 - Playboy No. 7
08 - The Game Is On
09 - Fantasy Man
10 - Closer To The Truth
11 - No Place Like Home

Mikael Erlandsson - Vocals, Keyboards
Mikael Carlsson (Dogface) - Bass, Guitars, Keyboards, Vocals
Martin Kronlund (Gypsy Rose, Dogface) - Guitars
Perra Johnsson (Coldspell) - Drums

No comments:

Post a Comment