Thursday, October 3, 2013


Canadian melodic rockers Harem Scarem, released their second, and perhaps one of the best in this scene, album - their original "Mood Swings" - in 1993. Now, 20 years later, the band is celebrating the anniversary of the release of "Mood Swings" with a remix of all the original eleven songs of this classic album and with the adding of three new bonus tracks in the spirit of the original "Mood Swings".

Harem Scarem after the release of the rather average "Hope" in 2008 decided to make a big break. Five years later , rumors about a possible reunion for some live performances began to circulate and were confirmed after the Firefest announcement that the band will be a headliner of the first night ! Great news for each and every single fan of this super-group!!!

So, nowadays, I have the honor and pleasure to hear one of my favorite albums of all times with a new but always faithful to the original sound ! I think it is unnecessary to refer to the original eleven songs fn the album that Harem Scarem recirculate since I do not think there is not even a single fan of this particular scene that has not heard of this fantastic and classic album !

Listening to the new "Mood Swings" over and over again, all that I have to add is that the sound seems 'fatter' with a fresher approach and the voice of Harry Hess is on top form! Going to the three new tracks of the disc and starting from the "World Gone To Pieces", I have to say that this is a classic Harem Scarem song in all terms; plenty of melodies, amazing vocal performances and the ultra catchy chorus will make you whistle it for days ! Next, we have "Anarchy" which moves into some more modern paths without derogating from the principle of the band that is the 'clever' chorus line ! "Brighter Day" is more melodic and could easily appear on any of the band's earlier releases (except Hope).

Buy it, steal it, borrow it at any cost ! ! One of the classiest albums of the melodic hard rock scene ever!!!!!
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 10/10

Track List :
01. Saviors Never Cry 
02. No Justice
03. Stranger Than Love 
04. Change Comes Around 
05. Jealousy 
06. Sentimental Blvd.
07. Mandy
08. Empty Promises
09. If There Was A Time
10. Just Like I Planned
11. Had Enough

12. World Gone To Pieces (new track) 
13. Anarchy (new track) 
14. Brighter Day (new track) 

No comments:

Post a Comment