Saturday, July 6, 2013

KING KOBRA / II (2013)

It was only three years ago that King Kobra's original members Carmine Appice, Johnny Rod and Mick Sweda reformed the band and in 2011 they released the solid "King Kobra" album. Paul Shortino was the lead shouter and the result pleased most of the die-hards.

Nowadays, the band is back again to offer to us another damn fine sample of pure hard rock stuff with big choruses, great arrangements and powerful performances. I have to admit that this new one is far better than their previous one and it's a great comeback of the band's past hey days. And the fact is that most of their fans wanted to deliver an album like that. The album starts impressively with the heavy rocker tune of "Hell On Wheels". A great guitar-driver track which shows that this band has a lot more to offer to this scene. "Knock 'Em Dead" is another ass-kickin' 80's rocker with attitude and some really impressive guitar work! "Have A Good Time" is a cool rock 'n roller while in "Take Me Back" we have the first huge power ballad of the album and a song that fits perfectly with Shortino's vocal abilities. This is a simple great blues ballad with a sweet melody and as I said Shortino's awesome performances. Other highlights here are the old-fashioned "When The Hammer Comes Down", "Deep River" and the more commercial tune of "We Go Round".

"II" has attitude, a tight songwriting, some really impressive tracks, powerful performances and generally the guys have put heart and soul to deliver a great album all the way. This is a solid hard rock album in an old-fashioned way that can't be missed by any fan of the classic hard rock sound! Well done!!!
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 8/10

Track List :
01. Hell On Wheels
02. Knock 'Em Dead
03. Have A Good Time
04. The Ballad Of Johnny Rod
05. Take Me Back
06. When The Hammer Comes Down
07. Running Wild
08. The Crunch
09. Got It Comin'
10. Deep River
11. Don't Keep Me Waiting
12. We Go Round

No comments:

Post a Comment