Saturday, June 1, 2013


Thin Lizzy was one of the most influenced rock band's ever. The personality of the great Phil Lynott have changed the music scene with its own style. But even though this brilliant musician left this world too soon, his legacy will live forever. Over the last years, the band, with several line-ups, toured around the world and made every single fan of Thin Lizzy very happy.

Nowadays, the band is back with a new name (??), a new album and without the two original members, Darren Wharton and Brian Downey. Black Star Riders consists of Jimmy DeGrasso (White Lion, Ozzy and Lita Ford among others), Marco Mendoza, Ricky Warwick (The Almighty), Damon Johnson (Alice Cooper) and Lizzy's long time member Scott Gorham. The sound of B.S.R. is influenced, of course, by Thin Lizzy 'cause of Gorham's recognizable guitar tones. There is, also, a 'fresh' approach which is giving the extra something to the final result. All of the songs are well-crafted, with solid arrangements, some excellent guitar riffs n' solos and Warwick's powerful and at the same time emotional vocal performances. Highlights here are the great opener tune of "All Hell Break Loose", the amazing "Kingdom Of The Lost", "Bloodshot" which features some really great guitar work and "Valley Of The Stones".

All in all, this is a very good album. I can't say if this will be a future classic like all the Thin Lizzy records but, for sure, it stands on its own. In my opinion, this band should not be confused with the mighty Thin Lizzy. That was then this is now, period. It's a very enjoyable record that every fan of pure and classic hard rock sound should check it out.
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 7,5/10

Track List :: 
  1. All Hell Breaks Loose 
  2. Bound For Glory 
  3. Kingdom Of The Lost 
  4. Bloodshot 
  5. Kissin’ The Ground 
  6. Hey Judas 
  7. Hoodoo Voodoo 
  8. Valley Of The Stones 
  9. Someday Salvation 
  10. Before The War 
  11. Blues Ain’t So Bad

No comments:

Post a Comment