Saturday, January 12, 2013


When I reviewed the band's debut EP back in 2011, I was really impressed by these melodic rock youngsters! Their music was simple full of attitude, nice riffs and solos and some catchy tracks. So, what we have here is Wake Up Call's debut album which is titled "Batteries Are Not Included".

The band consists of Tommy on lead vocals, Olly on guitars, Dario on bass guitars and Giacomo on drums. The album starts with the impressive tune of "To Be"! This is a 'punchy' and up-tempo modern rocker full of attitude and Tommy's great vocal performances. "Kill Your Dreams" is simply brilliant!  Darker vibe in it but when it comes to the chorus, it transforms to a huge melodic rock song! "Christine" has very good arrangements and great harmony along with some heavier guitars and again a catchy chorus line!! "Batteries Are Not Included" is just awesome! A harder edged rocker with some punk pinches and there you have one of the album's highlights! "Smile" rocks good while "Just Wanna Dance" and "Let You Go" are both solid modern rock tracks. The rest of the songs are moving in the same modern hard rock paths with nice arrangements and 'clever' hooks and choruses to come to the the track that closes the album, "Right Here". This is a very beautiful and emotional ballad with a great melody and inspired arrangements.

Bottom line is that Wake Up Call with this album are aiming to some bigger things in the near future. They have plenty of talent and the skills to make some noise in the new generation of modern melodic hard rock scene! Well done!
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 8,5/10

Track List : To Be*, Kill Your Dreams*, Christine*, Batteries Are Not Included*, Smile, Just Wanna Dance, Let You Go*, Asshole*, One Day, Not Like You, Right Here* 

*best tracks

No comments:

Post a Comment