Sunday, August 7, 2016

REVIEW : PARIS / The World Outside (2016)

"The World Outside" is entitled PARIS' s brand new record. This French based melodic rock band that was formed by singer & keyboardist Frederic Dechevanne and guitarist Sebastien Montet is back with another solid album that will please every fan of the melodic rock sound in general.

Apart from Frederic and Sebastien, the new record features Steve Newman (Background Vocals, Additional Guitar), David Bartlett (Bass, Background Vocals), Rob McEwen (Drums, Percussion) and also Robert Säll (guitar (main solo) on ‘When You Find Love’), Jean-Marc Perz (Additional Background Vocals) and the mighty Alessandro Del Vecchio (Background vocals on ‘End Of My World’).

The most impressive thing in "The World Outside" is the amazing guitar lines from Sebastien Montet. This guy can sure deliver some really inspired and melodic riffs and solos and generally gives the extra 'push' to take this effort to a higher level. The sound here recalls to the classic AOR/Melodic Rock sound of the late 80's with a more fresh and updated approach.

The opener "End Of My World" is pure melodic hard rock bliss!!! Catchy as hell with attitude and a Def Leppard vibe in it this track is simply killer!!! "Looking For You" is yet another superb sample of PARIS' music; melodic, edgy and catchy!!! The ultra melodic Street Talk-esque "This Broken Heart" is delightful while in "Tears In Your Heart" we are dealing with an amazing mid-tempo rocker.

Closing my review here, I have to add that I enjoyed every single moment of PARIS' s new record. Well-crafted and well-performed tunes with plenty of melodies to die for "The World Outside" will put a wide smile upon the face of every fan of the classic melodic rock sound. 

Rating : 8,5/10

Track Listing :
01 - End Of My World
02 - When You Find Love
03 - Looking For You
04 - Kitesurfing
05 - This Broken Heart
06 - I Feel Fine
07 - Tears In Your Heart
08 - In My Eyes
09 - Haunted
10 - Unreachable

No comments:

Post a Comment