Monday, January 2, 2012


IBERIA is one of the most important national bands in Portugal since the late 80's. They were formed back in 1986 and they've parted ways ten years later but they have released albums that have become authentic classics such as "Iberia" in 1988 and "Heroes Of The Wasteland" in 1990.

In 2007, two of the founding members of the band, Joao Sergio (bass) and Francisco Landum (guitars) have 'agreed' with "Espacial" Record Company to re-release the band's first two albums. In 2009, the band got together again for an explosive live performance at In Live Cafe (Portugal) and in 2010 the band started to write and record a brand new album. The result of Iberia's work is this album which is titled "Revolution". In this album, we, also, find a very special appearance of Fernando Ribeiro (Moonspell) and a remake of Iberia's biggest hit back in the 80's "Hollywood".

In this album, there are plenty of tracks that impressed me such as the hard rockin' anthemic "Revolution" with its catchy chorus and the nice riffs, the pure 80's rocking tune of "Angel", the rhythmic "Hot In Love", the heavier "Turning Back" and the re-make of the band's classic "Hollywood" are the highlights here. Except of couple of average tracks, the rest of the songs here are all well-crafted and the quality of the songs are reflected in the whole album.

All in all, this is an extremely interesting release of solid hard rock music with some heavier elements full of nice hooks and choruses, very good guitar work and a tight musianship. Get it!
HeavyParadise's Rating : 8/10

Track List :

1- Code Red; 2- Revolution; 3- All Night Flying; 4- Angel; 5- Stooge; 6- She Devil; 7- Turning Back; 8- Dizzy; 9- Hot In Love; 10- Ride; 11- Tired (Leave Me Alone); 12- N.I.T.R.O.; 13- Tommy‟s Frequency; 14- Hollywood

No comments:

Post a Comment