Tuesday, March 29, 2016

REVIEW : THE DEFIANTS / The Defiants(2016)

The Defiants is the new hot name in the melodic hard rock scene! The band that was put together by three fabulous musicians such as Paul Laine, Bruno Ravel and Rob Marcello is releasing its debut album and the sure thing is that it's gonna make some big noise!

Paul Laine as lead singer of Danger Danger did a hell of a job and released three (plus the versions on Cockroach album) superb records. Rob Marcello is one of today's best guitarists with a unique style and last but not least Bruno Ravel is the man that kept the Rock 'n' Roll dream alive with Danger Danger. So, when you have a winning team with a such a big talent, then the result is guaranteed! The Defiants is a glorious come back to the sound of the late 80's, early 90's, with a sound that refers to bands like Danger Danger (of course) and Bon Jovi.

After a short but intense intro, it comes the real thing; "Love And Bullets" kicks-off the party here with its powerful and in-your-face rhythm, the amazing guitar lines and Laine's superb performances. More groove in "When The Lights Go Down" (a song that could easily appear in "four the hard way") to come to the album's absolute highlight "Waiting On A Heartbreak". This is a true melodic hard rock gem that will blow your mind up with its superb melody and the stunning chorus line!!! The Bon Jovi-easque "Runaway" is a damn fine up-tempo tune while in "Lil' Miss Rock N Roll", "The Last Kiss" and "Take Me Back" the 80's hard rock party continues til' the morning light!! "We All Fall Down" is a huge modern melodic monster with an explosive chorus line and "That's When I'll Stop Loving You" is a great power ballad made in an old-fashioned way.

Great, just great record all the way!! Put on your torn blue jeans, take your car and blast this huge and anthemic record into your cd player til' the morning light!!!!! One of the best albums that I've heard for ages!!!

Rating : 10/10

Track Listing :
01. Intro (Carillon's Theme)
02. Love And Bullets
03. When The Lights Go Down
04. Waiting On A Heartbreak
05. Runaway
06. Lil' Miss Rock'N'roll
07. Last Kiss
08. Save Me Tonight
09. Take Me Back
10. We All Fall
11. That's When I'll Stop Loving You
12. Underneath The Stars