Saturday, January 16, 2016

REVIEW : Grand Slam – A New Dawn (2016)

The Swedish melodic rock act of Grand Slam was founded in 2007 in Malmö, Sweden, by drummer Andy Swaniz (ex-Quadruple). There have been several lineup changes over the years as well as a number of musicians were hired only for specific recordings or gigs. In the summer of 2012, Grand Slam found the perfect lead singer and front-man for the band, Andy Sinner (ex-Trash Queen).

In 2014, Grand Slam went into the studio to record a three-song EP, "Waiting For Tomorrow", which received considerable attention worldwide. The EP was recorded and produced by Erik Wiss in Peekroom Studios.

After a couple of spins of "A New Dawn", I have to say that this is a great record all the way; melodic rock/AOR with attitude filled with beautiful melodies, excellent harmonies, tasteful guitars and very good performances. Yes, "A New Dawn" is an album that will please each and every single fan of this particular scene and will rocket Grand Slam to a higher level! "Light Up The Sky" sounds the perfect opener and the perfect sample of Grand Slam's music. It includes a catchy as hell chorus line and it's what I call 'ballsy melodic rock'!!! "Face", the first single, is yet another gem out of the new opus! Somewhere between H.E.A.T. and 'lighter' ECLIPSE this track will blow your mind!! At this point, I have to say that the lead singer, Andy Sinner , is doin' an excellent job regarding the vocals. "One Way To Heaven" is edgier while in "Get High" Grand Slam delivers a superb and 'punchy' modern melodic rock hymn!!! "Take Me Higher" is a typical feel-good Scandi-rock stuff and "I Wanna Live" is build up for arenas!!!

Damn, this album grabbed me at once and left me up with a big smile upon my face! Big melodies, choruses to sing-a-long for days, the right attitude and a bunch of some killer tracks are the ingredients of this brilliant melodic rock album!! 

Rating : 9,5/10

Track Listing :
1. Light Up The Sky, 2. Rock My World, 3. Face, 4. One Way To Heaven, 5. Don’t Leave, 6. Get High, 7. Take Me Higher, 8. Waiting For Tomorrow, 9. I Wanna Live, 10. Don’t Mess With Me

No comments:

Post a Comment