Sunday, October 4, 2015

REVIEW : John Dallas / Wild Life (2015)

John Dallas aka Luca Stanzani was born in Bologna, Italy. He started playing the guitar and singing very early, at the age of 15, fostering his passion for hard rock music and bands such as Queen, AC/DC, Guns 'N Roses, Van Halen and Deep Purple.

He jammed with some well-known musicians of the Bologna rock scene, he formed bands like AFTERLIFE and Red Burn, in which Dallas showed up his influences and, nowadays, the artist is ready to make the big step with his solo record which is entitled "Wild Life".

In "Wild Life", Dallas delivers a record that is a kinda of tribute to his heroes of the late 80's, early 90's, hard rock scene like Bon Jovi and Van Halen mainly with a fresh and updated sound. Yes, "Wild Life" is a solid album full of up-tempo rhythms, catchy hooks and choruses, 'crunchy' guitars and powerful vocals. "Under Control" which opens this new release is the perfect sample of Dallas music; ass-kickin' hard rock with attitude and with a Bon Jovi vibe to haunt the track! "Heaven Is" is a killer commercial modern hard rock tune that while in "Dreamin' Of" we are dealing with yet another highlight out of this record. "Freedom" is a really nice mid-tempo song and lights on for "Psycho Game" which is another superb rocker!  

Two thumbs up for John Dallas and for "Wild Life". He achieved to bring back the late 80's hard rock sound with a modern twist and the final result is really solid. Highly recommended stuff!

Rating : 8,4/10

Track Listing :
1. Under Control
2. Heaven Is
3. Falling
4. Wild Life
5. Dreamin' On
6. Electric
7. Freedom
8. Psycho Game
9. Love's Fake

No comments:

Post a Comment