Sunday, May 10, 2015

REVIEW : Darkology / Fated To Burn (2015)

Darkology is a powerful, still melodic, metal band features in its ranks the amazing Harris brothers, Michael (Thought Chamber, Arch Rival, Leather, Chastain) on guitars and Brian (Firewind, Solstice (US), My own Victim, etc.) on drums.

The other members of Darkology are Kelly Sundown Carpenter (Beyond Twilight , Outworld, Epysode and former touring vocalist for Firewind) on vocals and bassist Mike Neal (Medieval Steel, Salems Lot, etc.) who lays down some cool grooves and has even co-written about half of the songs on this album, as well as most of the lyrics.

Chris Tsangarides, the famous Anglo-Cypriot, Grammy nominated producer did handle mixing duties and mastering that took place at Athens Mastering. Tsangarides states about the new record : "As I was mixing the album and as the songs were coming alive, I was thinking wow this is good, that is also good, this is VERY good !“Fated To Burn” is a must have album....It's an aural assault of all senses with plenty of melody and bombast for the most discerning Metal-heads!"

The band's debut album, “Altered Reflections”, was released in 2009 and achieved to gain some really positive feedback, both from press and the metal fans. So, nowadays, the band is back to unleash its brand new opus which is entitled "Fated To Burn".

"Fated To Burn" includes everything that an ordinary metal fan asks for; it's heavy, it's melodic, it's dark, it has some excellent and hellish riffs and solos, 'metal' to the bone vocals, a tight musicianship, a bunch of some killer tunes in it and attitude!!! From the opening fast-paced 80's metal tune of "Kill Me If You Can" to the 'speedy' "Eyes Of The Machine" or even to the ass-kickin' and heavy "21st Century Frankensteins", DARKOLOGY is delivering pure and powerful 80's metal music with a more updated sound and at the end achieves to satisfy every crazy metal-head out there!! A highly recommended metal record!!
Rating : 8,8/10

Track Listing :
01. Kill Me If You Can
02. Beyond The Grave
03. On Morrows Break
04. The Eyes Of The Machine
05. Quantum Genocide
06. The Shadows Of Oth
07. Fated To Burn
08. 21st Century Frankensteins (Nobot2)
09. Festival Of Fear
10. Holy
11. Nightmare King
i. Shadows Of The Abyss
ii. The Summoning
iii. The Construct
iv. Eternus Nocturne: The Dark Domain
12. Your Hollow Soul (instrumental, bonus)

No comments:

Post a Comment